Today’s Scrip-Bit 25 July 2017 James 1:19.

James 1:19.   Wherefore, my beloved brethren, let every man be swift to hear, slow to speak, slow to wrath.

Aye friends, the aches and pains really taking a toll on the ole body this morning yes! Imagine waking up more pained than when you went to bed nuh. 

But yuh know what? I’m still everlastingly grateful for being alive on this cloudy Tuesday morning, despite all the aches and pains! Glory to God my fellow believers! 

And I did give Him plenty thanks and praise for causing me to see another day, in spite of it being somewhat difficult to navigate my territory. (smile) And why is that you ask? 

Because I’m simply happy to be alive, plus I know that after I move around a bit, have my cup of rejuvenating java, I’ll feel much better. 

And even better than that, I also know that He is such a great and powerful Deity, that if and when He so chooses, He can heal me completely with a mere snap of His fingers! What an awesome God we serve my brethren! 

I sincerely hope that you also gave Him much thanks and praise as you awakened to another day, because that is the only wise and sensible way to begin a new day on this crazy and convoluted planet Earth! 

Now here is an interesting excerpt from our One Year Book of Bible Promises with writings by Ruth Harms Calkin, that many of us need to come to terms with. It’s called ‘A Quiet Tongue.’  

Please pray with me. ‘Lord, a revealing fact Began to surface today: I talk more than I listen. I seem to be thoroughly convinced That my ideas My inspiring experiences My bits of wisdom Are exactly what all my friends need. 

Too often I break into conversations Confident that my enlightened insight will solve the predicament – Whatever it is. Obviously I feel more comfortable When I’m expounding. 

But this morning at a Bible Study I cringed when I read Your command In the first chapter of James: “Don’t ever forget That it is best to listen much Speak little, and not become angry.” 

At first I wanted to run. But as the words kept battering away At my guilty heart I finally circled them with red ink. Now, Lord, please help me to obey them. Remind me daily, hourly That listening is a discipline And a discipline always costs. 

I know I must pay a price. The price for me Is a listening ear And a quiet tongue.’  

Ah fellow Christians, those words are so true of so many of us that it’s not funny! I know that I’m a major culprit. But I’m better than I was. I remember a couple years ago going to Holy Thursday night vigil at church and getting the zeppo in the empty church loud and clear: ‘LISTEN!’ And did I? Well to some extent yes. But certainly not enough. 

And I know that a lot of us have the same problem; we always feel that our two cents worth will clarify the problems, and if we don’t get them in there as soon as possible, cutting off everybody else, everything will just get muddled and go to the dogs. But the truth is friends, that that is only true occasionally. 

And the point of the matter is that we can’t give a sincere and sensible response to anything unless we listen to what others have to say. Our time will come to expound, but we can’t expound wisely until we know what we’re expounding about. 

And quite appropriately, our Bit for today is the verse the Bible Promise highlights, the awesome words of James. ‘Wherefore, my beloved brethren, let every man be swift to hear, slow to speak, slow to wrath.’ 

Now the sad part is that in this modern age of almost instant communication, we need to obey that command more than ever, because everybody is simply spouting off at the mouth, or at the fingers (smile) because we can, without giving the necessary thought to our communication. 

Just look at the large amount of people who are getting themselves foolishly into trouble with all the social media nonsense! It’s simply causing more strife, bitterness and anger since we use social media like a free for all. 

And unfortunately, as easy and cheap communication spreads further and wider, instead of it getting better, it seems to be getting worse. Ah my fellow believers, that might be okay for the great unwashed, but it has no part in our lives. 

Just listen to these wise words of warning from Cousin Sol nuh. ‘In the multitude of words there wanteth not sin: but he that refraineth (restrains) his lips is wise.’ (Prov.10:19) 

That’s plain and straightforward friends. No rocket science to it. The less you talk, the less sin you’ll commit. But just in case you didn’t get it (smile), then listen to Cousin Sol again. 

‘He that hath knowledge spareth his words: and a man of understanding is of excellent (calm) spirit. Even a fool, when he holdeth his peace (keeps silent), is counted (considered) wise: and he that shutteth his lips is esteemed a man of understanding.’ (Prov.17:27-28) 

What more can I say eh mih people? It is of the utmost importance that believers become good listeners and only talk when it’s absolutely necessary. Any other behaviour is liable to drive potential believers away from Jesus. And we definitely don’t want to do that. 

Now let’s go home declaring our Tuesday Mantra in all sincerity and truth, and hopefully it will help us with our mouth problems (smile). 

As one now: ‘I’m not what I do. I’m not what I have. I’m not what people say about me. I am the beloved of God, that’s who I am. No one can take that from me. I don’t have to worry. I don’t have to hurry. I can trust my friend Jesus and share His LOVE with the world.  Amen!’ 

Yeh friends, we need to share Jesus’ LOVE, but to do so, we don’t have to kill them with talk! Much LOVE!

…it’s best to keep your mouth shut…and let people think you are wise…instead of opening it…and letting them know you are foolish…

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment