Today’s Scrip-Bit 21 July 2017 Psalm 86:11.

Psalm 86:11.   Teach me thy way, O Lord; I will walk in thy truth: unite my heart (give me singleness of purpose) to fear (have reverential awe for) thy name.

Ah mih friends, what can I say this beautiful summer’s morn eh? Nothing but God bless! Enjoy it and give thanks! (smile) 

Yeh, we’re alive and hopefully going about God’s plan for our lives in a successful and productive manner, for that’s what He desires of us, each and every day He causes us to see the light. 

Walking out of His will is downright foolish, and sadly a lot of people are planning to do that today, as their weekend furlough begins. Just listen to their shouts of ‘TGIF! Thank God is Friday yes! 

Mama Yo, the weekend is here, party time is here, plenty eating and drinking and smooching! We call it the just do what you want to do time, ignoring both man and beast! Thank God for Fridays and weekends oui, otherwise we’d just go out we mind with worry!’ 

Oh my faithful brethren, it is quite all right to ignore man and beast, but ignoring God, as the weekenders are planning to do, is an entirely different matter, one fraught with serious consequences. Taking a break from work is fine, indeed it’s necessary and beneficial, but we have to pay careful attention to the limits to which we go. 

Our Friday Chant provides a much more sensible approach to the weekend, so let’s declare it now nuh, in all sincerity and truth. ‘Oh Lord, thanks for getting me safely through another week of work! It hasn’t been easy, but with your generous help, I made it through. 

Now, please help me to get sufficient fun, fellowship, rest and relaxation in these two short days off, so that I can be renewed and refreshed in soul, body and mind, to go back out and do it all over again next week, furthering your glorious kingdom with each step I take. I pray this in Jesus name. Amen.’ 

Yeh friends, that is more in keeping with our Christian faith; making sure that we have and respect some boundaries in our lives, and not just going whole hog after the carnal lusts of the flesh, which are so prevalent today. 

And as we’ve been seeing for the last couple of days, declaring and adhering to the glorious words of our Bit is one way to keep us safely grounded in God. ‘Teach me thy way, O Lord; I will walk in thy truth: unite my heart (give me singleness of purpose) to fear (have reverential awe for) thy name.’ 

Oh precious people of God, if we approach the Living God of our fathers, sincerely and ask for His help and guidance, He will NEVER turn us down! 

And Bruh David seems to have known that principle and used it quite often in His talks with the Almighty. Listen to him from Psalm 25 – A prayer for guidance and protection. ‘Show me thy ways, O Lord; teach me thy paths. Lead me in thy truth, and teach me: for thou art the God of my salvation; on thee do I wait all day.’ (Ps.25:4-5) 

Ah friends, do we ever call on God in such sincerity? If not, then perhaps we should. It might just change our whole perspective and consequently our lives for the better. Now hear Bruh David again from Psalm 27 – The Lord is my light and my salvation. 

‘Teach me thy way, O Lord, and lead me in a plain (smooth) path, because of mine enemies. Deliver me not over unto the will of mine enemies: for false witnesses are risen up against me, and such as breathe out cruelty (violence).

I had fainted, unless I had believed to see the goodness of the Lord in the land of the living. Wait (in faith) on the Lord: be of good courage, and he shall strengthen thine heart: wait (patiently and in faith), I say, on the Lord.’ (Ps.27:11-14) 

Yeh mih breddren, it all boils down to faith and trust and patient but expectant waiting with a big dollop of perseverance, when it comes to dealing with Almighty God. And we’ll close with this last entreaty from Bruh David from Psalm 143- Teach me to do thy will. 

‘Teach me to do thy will, for thou art my God: thy spirit is good; lead me into the land of uprightness. Quicken (revive) me, O Lord, for thy name’s sake: for thy righteousness’ sake bring my soul out of trouble. And of thy mercy cut off (put an end) to mine enemies, and destroy all them that afflict my soul: for I am thy servant.’ (Ps.143:10-12) 

And the most poignant words in all of that friends, are the last ones: ‘for I am thy servant.’ Unless we are prepared to be God’s servant, as well as our fellow man in God’s name, our cries for help will not be answered. Remember Jesus said He came to serve, not be served. 

And also bear in mind the greeting of the lord in the parable of the talents: ‘Well done, good and faithful servant; thou hast been faithful over a few things, I will make thee ruler over many things: enter thou into the joy of the Lord.’ (Matt.25:23). 

Let’s not forget our purpose today my brethren as we walk in faithful service to out Lord and Saviour Jesus Christ. Much LOVE!

…to faithfully serve Jesus…in any manner He desires…is our Christian calling…

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

