Today’s Scrip-Bit 13 July 2017 Jeremiah 9:3.

Jeremiah 9:3.   And they bend their tongues like their bow for lies: but they are not valiant for the truth upon the earth; for they proceed from evil to evil, and they know not me, saith the Lord.

Ah mih breddren, at last a cloudy day! Yeh, so we can get a li’l rain, a li’l heavenly blessing to water our land. My area hasn’t seen any rain in almost two weeks, although the weather prognosticators have been daily promising it. 

But rain has been falling in other areas. I guess the Lord’s been doing some selective blessing. Let’s hope today is our day, for the short drizzle we got yesterday afternoon was almost immediately dried up by the humidity. 

And I do hear a few drops falling outside, and a rumble of thunder in the distance. Hopefully some meaningful rain will happen soon. Praise the Lord!

Moving on to other matters, I want to share a transcript from an old newspaper clipping I recently found amongst some papers on my desk. I shared it a long time ago, but is it ever so appropriate for these evil and uncertain times. 

Now, according to the newspaper clipping, on August 9, 1974, the day ex-President of the U.S, Richard Nixon left the Presidency, he ‘gave an emotional farewell speech in the East Room to his staff, his friends, and his Cabinet. His family stood with him. 

Near the end of his remarks, he waved his arms, as if to highlight the most important thing he had to say. “Always remember,” he said, “others may hate you, but those who you hate you don’t win unless you hate them, and then you destroy yourself.” 

His hatred had brought about his downfall. Nixon apparently grasped this insight, but too late. He had already destroyed himself.’ 

Ah friends, such words of immortal wisdom eh! But as the paper says, Nixon learned the lesson too late. I think we can all take that lesson for ourselves today. When we hate, we destroy ourselves! It’s as simple as that. 

And I believe that’s a very valuable lesson that the current incumbent of the U.S Presidency, ought to heed, because he is causing such unnecessary strife and controversy with his untoward behaviour that it can only lead to a severe negative backlash. 

And sadly, it all fits in so smoothly with our Bit. ‘And they bend their tongues like their bow for lies: but they are not valiant for the truth upon the earth; for they proceed from evil to evil, and they know not me, saith the Lord.’ 

Ah precious people of God, I sometimes wonder if our society can get any more evil and ungodly than it already is. And it shakes me to my very soul when I discover that the answer is yes, because I just can’t imagine our society getting worse than it is right now. But it surely seems possible. 

That brings to mind Jeremiah’s sad lament over Judah so long ago. ‘My bowels, my bowels (inner parts, soul)! I am pained at my very heart; my heart maketh a noise in me; I cannot hold my peace, because thou hast heard, O my soul, the sound of the trumpet, the alarm of war. 

Destruction upon destruction is cried; for the whole land is spoiled (plundered): suddenly are my tents spoiled (plundered), and my curtains in a moment. How long shall I see the standard (banner), and hear the sound of the trumpet (sounds of war)? (Jer.4:19-21) 

Likewise friends, I am lamenting over our present world because it is filled with the same disgusting sounds of war and disaster all over. And the sad part is that those who really seem to care about its possible demise are in the minority, as the majority scratch and fight for their own li’l piece of the pie. 

But that unwise activity also recalls one of Jeremiah’s most astute proclamations on behalf of Almighty God. ‘For my people is foolish, they have not known me; they are sottish (stupid, silly) children, and they have none (no) understanding: they are wise to do evil, but to do good they have no knowledge.’ (Jer.4:22) 

Ah my fellow believers, it’s so sad that the saying History repeats itself is ever so true, because we are living the same kind of evil, ungodly life that Judah and so many others have lived down through the ages and eventually felt their sad demise. It’s just that ours is on a much bigger, wider and more intense scale because our world is larger than theirs.. 

Oh friends, as followers of Jesus Christ, the Prince of Peace, the Patriarch of LOVE, I’m imploring us to do our best, in our li’l corner of the world to promote the oh so necessary LOVE Revolution of our infallible Leader, because that’s the only way our world can, or will be saved from imminent destruction. 

And having said all of that, let’s go home on a more positive and productive note, as we declare our Thursday Blessings. With one loud voice now: ‘I declare that I am blessed with God’s supernatural wisdom and receive clear direction for my life! I declare today that I am blessed with creativity, courage, talent and abundance! 

I am blessed with a strong will, self-control and self-discipline! I am blessed with a great family, good friends, good health, faith, favour and fulfillment! I am blessed with success, supernatural strength, promotion and divine protection! I am blessed with a compassionate heart and a positive outlook on life! 

I declare that any curse or negative word that’s ever been spoken over me is broken right now in the name of Jesus! I declare that everything I put my hands to will prosper and succeed! I declare it today and everyday! Amen!’ 

Yes friends, that’s the wonderful kind of life we have to look forward to when we live for Jesus! And since blessings need to be spoken to be most effective, let’s go out and speak them over others nuh, as our Lord and Saviour Jesus so avidly desires of us. Much LOVE!

…do not fight evil with evil…but overcome evil with good…

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

