Today’s Scrip-Bit 6 July 2017 Psalm 49:6-7.

Psalm 49:6-7.   They that trust in their wealth, and boast themselves in the multitude of their riches; None of them can by any means redeem his brother, nor give to God a ransom for him.

Awright mih people, awright! Yesterday did end much better than it began, and today’s begun on the right foot, no aches and pains like yesterday! Wow! Glory to God in the highest! 

And I’m up an hour earlier than I had planned because I have to go out the street and be early in line at the lab for that blood work. The truth is, I didn’t plan on getting up this early, but I misread the clock; instead of seeing 5.30, I saw 6 30, and by the time I realized my error, I was already getting dressed. 

And though another hour’s sleep did sound very inviting, I decided to forego it and come down and begin writing the Bit. Hn! Yuh see how much I care about getting it out as early as possible to you? (smile) 

But before we go any further, let me apologize for a typo yesterday. It seems like I created a whole new nation called the ‘Gelatins’ to whom Bruh Paul wrote an epistle. Don’t know how many of you noticed it. And I don’t see how that escaped me, since I read the Bit several times before I send it out, and the Galatians showed up quite right elsewhere. 

But I guess the spell check never picked it up because ‘Gelatin’ is also a word. However, all of that is now history and I have something wonderful for us to begin our day with. It’s simply called ‘JOY!’ And it comes from our One Year Book of Bible Promises with writings by Ruth Harms Calkin. 

Please pray with me: ‘Joy! My favourite word. Circumstances may determine my happiness But, Lord, You determine my joy. Joy is sweetly honest. No wonder the minister said: “You can’t hide joy if you have it – You can’t fake it if you don’t.” Who can manufacture it, Lord? Joy is your creation. Who may have it? Anyone who asks. Thank You, Lord For joy!’ 

Mama Mia! Isn’t that beautiful and ever so encouraging my fellow believers? It certainly is! And the thing is we can only find real joy when we are in a good relationship with the Lord through His Son, our Lord and Saviour Jesus Christ, because those are the people the Lord made joy for – true believers like you and I! 

And the big difference between joy and happiness is that the former is circumstantial, based on circumstances and flees when the circumstances are not amenable, but joy, once we have found it in the Lord stays with us forever, regardless of the circumstances! Glory to God! 

And before I get carried away with the joy in my spirit, (smile) let me give us the Bible Promise associated with that poem. Obviously it’s the great verse we all know: ‘Don’t be dejected and sad, for the joy of the Lord is your strength.’ (Neh. 8:10) That’s from the New Life Translation. 

But we all know when we lose our joy that we become weak, sad and dejected. That’s why the enemy is always behind us to steal it, and we have to protect it, literally with our life, for once it’s lost, it’s ever so hard to regain. 

So this Thursday morning my faithful brethren, let’s decide to stay strong in Jesus and let our joy just percolate quietly and ecstatically in our hearts and souls. Let’s show the world the magnificent experience that we gain by sincerely serving the Lord, and they too can have, if they change their wicked ways and accept Him as Lord and Saviour.  

Now there’s not much time or space left for out Bit, but we’ll push on regardless. ‘They that trust in their wealth, and boast themselves in the multitude of their riches; None of them can by any means redeem his brother, nor give to God a ransom for him.’ 

Yeh friends, that’s exactly why our souls are filled with joy! We know that no earthly wealth can redeem us, so we don’t focus on it. But Jesus Christ is the ONE and ONLY ONE who can redeem us! 

And He did just that by dying on the cross at Calvary, carrying our sins to the grave and burying them there. That’s why we concentrate our focus on Him and not anything that’s in the world. 

Anyway, got to run out now. See you in a bit… 

I’m back friends, an hour and a half and several vials of blood later. (smile) I got out there about ten after seven and was the fourth in line. So it wasn’t too bad, just the standing around waiting for them to open. And you’d be proud to know that as well mannered Canadians, we all stood nicely in line as we got there. (smile) 

And like all we have time and space for now are these immortal words of Bruh Paul to Titus, as he tells him how to live the Christian life. ‘For the grace of God that bringeth salvation hath appeared to all men. Teaching us that, denying ungodliness and worldly lusts, we should live soberly, righteously, and godly, in this present world (age); 

Looking for that blessed hope, and the glorious appearing of the great God and our Saviour Jesus Christ; Who gave himself for us, that he might redeem us from all iniquity, and purify unto himself a peculiar (his own special) people, zealous of good works. These things speak, and exhort, and rebuke with all authority. Let no man despise thee.’ (Titus 2:11-15) 

Those words also pertain to us in these trying times my brethren. So please let’s hold on to them diligently, so that we don’t lose our joy in the Lord, and can also go home now, sincerely declaring and truly believing the words of our Thursday Blessings. 

As one now:  ‘I declare that I am blessed with God’s supernatural wisdom and receive clear direction for my life! I declare today that I am blessed with creativity, courage, talent and abundance! I am blessed with a strong will, self-control and self-discipline! 

I am blessed with a great family, good friends, good health, faith, favour and fulfillment! I am blessed with success, supernatural strength, promotion and divine protection! I am blessed with a compassionate heart and a positive outlook on life! 

I declare that any curse or negative word that’s ever been spoken over me is broken right now in the name of Jesus! I declare that everything I put my hands to will prosper and succeed! I declare it today and everyday! Amen!’ 

And since blessings are made to be shared, let’s go out now and bless others nuh, as Jesus desires of us. Much LOVE!

…the truly redeemed…can be known by their joy in the Lord…

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

