Today’s Scrip-Bit 31 March 2017 Psalm 118:24.

Psalm 118:24.   This is the day which the Lord hath made; we will rejoice and be glad in it.

Aye mih Scrip-Bit friends and family! Top O’ the morn to you! Despite it being a cold and rainy one. (smile) But the weather in these current times is really something else yes! 

Yesterday afternoon I went to have a nap, and though it wasn’t bright and sunny, there wasn’t any hint of precipitation in the air. So you can imagine my surprise and consternation when I got up a couple of hours later and found the place all white with snow! 

‘Snow!’ I righteously exclaimed. Snow was the furthest thing from my mind, and I was even less thrilled because I had to go out and run a few errands. 

And by the time I was ready to go out, the precipitation had become a mixture of wet snow and rain, which can be more dangerous than either pure snow or pure rain. But them’s the breaks, we just have to live with whatever we receive. 

And it’s certainly not bothering the ordinary workingman today, because he’s still out there singing: ‘Ole! Ole! Thank God is Friday! Thank God is the weekend! The time for partying is here! We going to party to the max! No stopping us…even though is Lent! Thank God for Fridays and the weekends oui!’ 

And as I keep saying, the sentiments are understandable, but they are not wise, for as the ole people would say: too much of anything is good for nothing. And that’s no lie. But our Friday Chant provides a much better way to celebrate the weekend. 

So let’s chant it now with sincerity and true belief nuh. ‘Oh Lord, thanks for getting me safely through another week of work! It hasn’t been easy, but with your generous help, I made it through. 

Now, please help me to get sufficient fun, fellowship, rest and relaxation in these two short days off, so that I can be renewed and refreshed in soul, body and mind, to go back out and do it all over again next week, furthering your glorious kingdom with each step I take. I pray this in Jesus name. Amen.’ 

Yeh friends, we have to have a balanced weekend, if we’re to come up over the new week with authority and power, instead of it manhandling us. But while balancing our act, it’s also necessary to do as our Bit says: ‘This is the day which the Lord hath made; we will rejoice and be glad in it.’ 

Yes my people, we’re back to that Bit. It just didn’t fit yesterday’s sermon (smile). Oh, is it ever necessary to enjoy, or appreciate every day that the Lord has granted us on this planet earth. That was His intention behind making the earth and making us to populate it. 

Why yuh think He made the world so beautiful eh? So that His people could admire and enjoy it, and consequently praise Him for His LOVING-kindness. Our eyes need to see beautiful things and our hearts need LOVE to warm them. 

And though beauty and LOVE are not prominent in our world, they are prominent in our Lord and Saviour Jesus Christ! Praise the Lord! 

And that’s where we must keep our minds and hearts focused – EVERYDAY – if we’re to truly rejoice and be glad in it. For the world in its sad and rotten current state will only give us darkness and anger, depression and confusion, if we rely on it. 

ONLY Jesus can give us joy and peace in the midst of our worldly storms! And until we realize that, we’ll always be lacking something important in our lives. 

Now let’s hear a couple of scripture passages that back up our theory, beginning with the immortal words of Bruh David, from Psalm 31 – In thee O Lord, do I put my trust. ‘Into thine hand I commit my spirit: thou hast redeemed me, O Lord God of truth. I have hated them that regard lying vanities (vain idols): but I trust in thee Lord. 

I will be glad and rejoice in thy mercy: for thou hast considered my trouble; thou hast known my soul in adversities (troubles). And hast not shut me up into the hand of (given me over to) the enemy: thou hast set my feet in a large room.’ (Ps.31:5-8) 

Yuh see friends, when your trust is centred in the unwavering surety of Almighty God, it is possible to rejoice and be glad even in the rough times. And we’ll close with these words from Psalm 104 –God’s preservation of nature. 

‘He watereth the hills from his (upper) chambers: the earth is satisfied with the fruit of his works. He causeth the grass to grow for the cattle, and herb (vegetation) for the service of man: that he may bring forth fruit out of the earth; and wine that maketh glad the heart of man; and oil to make his face shine, and bread which strengtheneth man’s heart.’ (Ps.104:13-15) 

Ah mih breddren, yuh see I wasn’t lying when I said that God made the earth and all therein for us to enjoy! (smile) 

So let’s seriously contemplate those words nuh, and allow them to fill our hearts, minds, souls and bodies, with God’s LOVE and joy, for that is wisdom to the nth degree! Much LOVE!

…oh what joy and gladness fills our souls…when Jesus dwells intimately within us…

 

 

Leave a Reply

