Today’s Scrip-Bit 16 March 2017 Matthew 6:19.

Matthew 6:19.   Lay not up for yourselves treasures upon earth, where moth and rust doth corrupt (ruin), and where thieves break through and steal.

Aye mih friends, as the old people would say, if it’s not one thing, it’s something else yes! (smile) So let’s make our mea culpas right up front nuh. 

Over the last few days I’ve been dogged by a stubborn and lousy cold and cough, which unfortunately has led to even more erratic hours of waking and sleeping than before. I didn’t think that was possible. (smile) 

And having to be out and about some in the beastly cold weather didn’t help matters either. Oh friends, the sun’s been shining as brightly as ever in a blue sky, but it’s been beastly cold, with the wind and the ice from the earlier snowstorm making it even worse. 

And this Thursday morning is no different. But the amazing thing is that though my physical self is been battered somewhat by a host of illnesses, as our God would have it said, it is well with my soul. Glory to God my precious people! 

That is what comes from worshipping and serving the mighty God Jehovah, whom we praise, adore and exalt. That’s the wonderful benefit we derive from His magnanimous grace, mercy, forgiveness and LOVE! Oh give Him the great praise and thanks that He so rightfully deserves! 

And this morning I want to share something called ‘A Prayer for Later Years,’ which apparently comes from a Blog called ‘Mary’s Musings.’ 

Now I don’t remember where, when or how I came by it, but I found it amongst some other papers on my desk yesterday, and it seemed so appropriate for some of us senior citizens, that I just had to share it. (smile) 

So please pray with me. ‘Lord, thou knowest that I am growing older. Keep me from becoming too talkative, and particularly keep me from falling into the tiresome habit of expressing an opinion on every subject. Release me from the craving to straighten out everybody’s affairs. 

Keep my mind free from the recital of endless details. Give me wings to get to the point. Give me the grace, dear Lord, to listen to others describe their aches and pains. 

Help me to endure the boredom with patience and keep my lips sealed, for my own aches and pains are increasing in number and intensity, and the pleasure of discussing them is becoming sweeter as the years go by. 

Teach me the glorious lesson that, occasionally, I might be mistaken. Keep me reasonably sweet. I do not wish to be a saint (saints are so hard to live with), but a sour old person is the work of the devil. 

Make me thoughtful, but not moody; helpful, but not pushy; independent; yet able to accept with graciousness favours that others wish to bestow on me. Free me of the notion that simply because I have a lived a long time, I am wiser that those who have not lived so long. 

If I do not approve of some of the changes that have taken place in recent years, give me the wisdom to keep my mouth shut. Lord knows that when the end comes, I would like to have a friend or two left. Amen.’ 

Isn’t that wonderful my brethren! It describes many of us to a ‘T’! 

And the paper continues. ‘The author is unknown but I wish I had written it. I think it is appropriate for those of us of a “certain age.” And is it ever! (smile) 

Now let’s continue with our Bit, some powerful and wise words of admonition from our Lord and Saviour Jesus Christ. ‘Lay not up for yourselves treasures upon earth, where moth and rust doth corrupt (ruin), and where thieves break through and steal.’ 

Ah my people, we all know that is somewhat difficult to accomplish, especially when we are constantly bombarded with the glitzy and supposedly worthwhile and glamorous things of the world. But please remember that all that glitters is not gold. So though the world’s treasures may look wonderful, and entice us to accumulate them, that’s a fool’s wisdom. 

Listen to how Bruh Paul puts it to the Colossians. ‘If then ye be risen with Christ, seek those things which are above, where Christ sitteth on the right hand of God. Set your affection (mind) on things above, not on things on the earth. For ye are dead, and your life is hid with Christ in God.’ (Col.3:1-3) 

Yes friends, that means our life is tied up with Christ, through His death and resurrection, consequently we ought to concern our selves with spiritual and heavenly things, not the vices and lusts of the world. 

And sadly, we’ve run out of time and space, so let’s go home now declaring our Thursday Blessings. And remember that a blessing is not a blessing until it’s been spoken over someone. 

So altogether now: ‘I declare that I am blessed with God’s supernatural wisdom and receive clear direction for my life! I declare today that I am blessed with creativity, courage, talent and abundance! I am blessed with a strong will, self-control and self-discipline! 

I am blessed with a great family, good friends, good health, faith, favour and fulfillment! I am blessed with success, supernatural strength, promotion and divine protection! I am blessed with a compassionate heart and a positive outlook on life! 

I declare that any curse or negative word that’s ever been spoken over me is broken right now in the name of Jesus! I declare that everything I put my hands to will prosper and succeed! I declare it today and everyday! Amen!’ 

And having declared those awesome blessings over ourselves, let’s go out now and declare them over others, as Jesus would have us do. Much LOVE!

…why store up earth’s worthless wealth eh…when we can accumulate heaven’s much more worthwhile rewards…

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

