Today’s Scrip-Bit 30 January 2017 Daniel 10:18.

Daniel 10:18.    Then there came again and touched me one like the appearance of a man, and he strengthened me.

Ah mih breddren, Monday morning has rolled around again, and it’s time to go out and labour once more. As they say, no rest for the wicked. (smile) But we’re not wicked; we’re saints, followers of the one and only Lord Jesus Christ, the author of salvation and eternal life! 

But if we want to eat, then we have to work – and work diligently and sincerely too, so that we do not tarnish the wonderful and holy name of Jesus. And to help jump start our cold engines this chilly morning, let’s declare our Monday Morning Battle Hymn with much exuberance and child-like faith. 

As one earthly choir now: ‘Oh Lord God Almighty, Creator of the universe and all therein! We, your humble servants, praise your Holy Name and thank you that this Monday morning we have jobs to go to; jobs we don’t like, jobs that are unfair, difficult and even dangerous, but which serve a useful purpose here on earth; keeping lives and families together. 

We also thank you Father for the renewed vitality and enthusiasm you’ve wrought in our weary souls over the last two days. It’s that rejuvenation of Spirit which allows us now to sally forth with confidence into the evil, ungodly world that surrounds us, to begin a new week of work, constantly buffeted and bombarded by the enemy’s wicked taunts, wiles and lies. 

But heavenly Father, we’re not afraid, for we know we’re invincible, sure conquerors, once we’re wearing your powerful, protective spiritual armour. We surrender our all to you, and humbly ask that you let your incredible aura of LOVE, the Holy Spirit, lead and guide all your servants as we go out to meet the enemy in battle. 

Fill us with steadfast faith, so that we can make worthwhile inroads into the enemy’s ranks, and thereby further your glorious kingdom. We pray this in the Holy Name of your Son, and our Saviour, Jesus Christ. AMEN!’ 

Oh friends, that was a good rendition, and Jesus was pleased, as the smile on His handsome face showed. And if that didn’t get our adrenaline running, I don’t know what will! 

But as we always try to do, especially on a Monday morning, here is our Bit, which encourages, reassures and strengthens our resolve. ‘Then there came again and touched me one like the appearance of a man, and he strengthened me.’ 

I know many of us won’t know that wonderful scripture, but it’s a seminal scripture, and one that we all should know, especially when added to the verse after it. To summarize, the story begins when Daniel is given a vision by the great river ‘Hiddekel’ (the Tigris) in Babylon. 

Daniel declares in verse 2. ‘In those days I Daniel was mourning (fasting) three full weeks.’ Then on the 24th day, while by the river, he saw this angel dressed like a man. His acquaintances, though they didn’t see the man, fled in terror and hid themselves. And Daniel was left alone with the man. Obviously he too was afraid, but he stuck it out. 

The angel told him how he was greatly beloved and encouraged him. He also explained about how he was twenty days late because of problems with certain demons. This can all be fleshed out by reading Daniel 10:1-13.  

However, this explanation of verse 2 by the scholars shows the basic purpose of it all. ‘10:2. The entirety of chapter 10 is concerned with Daniel’s preparation to receive the vision. The emphasis of the chapter is the strengthening of Daniel and the satanic opposition that he and God’s angels encountered.’ 

Yes friends, even angels can be held up by demons. And yuh see Daniel needed to fast so he could be spiritually strengthened before receiving the vision, that’s how important fasting can sometimes be in our faith. 

Then we come to verse 14, where the Lord showed him what would happen in the roughly two hundred years of Israel’s future. ‘Now I am come to make thee understand what shall befall thy people in the latter days: for yet the vision is for many days (a long time in the future).’ (Dan.10:14) 

But when Daniel heard those words, he fell to the ground and became speechless. ‘And, behold, one like the similitude (having the likeness) of the sons of men touched my lips: then I opened my mouth, and spake, and said unto him that stood before me, O my lord, by (because of) the vision my sorrows are turned (have come) upon me, and I have retained no strength. For how can the servant of this my lord talk with this my lord? for as for me, straightway there remained no strength in me, neither is there breath left in me 

Then there came again and touched me one like the appearance of a man, and he strengthened me, And said, O man greatly beloved, fear not: peace be unto thee, be strong, yea be strong. And when he had spoken unto me, I was strengthened, and said, Let my lord speak; for thou hast strengthened me.’ (Dan.10: 16-19) 

Oh my fellow believers, it’s the same thing that our God is saying to us this morning, and every morning that He keeps us alive. And it’s certainly a promise that has buoyed me since I discovered it a few years ago. Let’s hope that it will speak to some of you like it did to me. Much LOVE!

…the promises of God…are given for our benefit…not to accept them…and hold on to them… is being rather foolish…

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

