Today’s Scrip-Bit 24 January 2017 Philippians 4:4.

Philippians 4:4.   Rejoice in the Lord always: and again I say, Rejoice.

Aye mih beautiful Scrip-Bit friends and family! How goes it on this glorious Tuesday eh? And believe me, in my area it’s not the physical aspect of the day that’s glorious, because though it’s dry, it’s still cloudy. Steups! 

We haven’t seen the sun in over a week…but we see the Son EVERYDAY! Glory to God! 

Don’t know if I’ve ever experienced that kind of damp, drizzly weather over such a long period nuh, in the middle of what’s supposed to be winter. But the important thing is that it’s a glorious day to be alive on God’s great earth! 

Walking with Him is so unexpected and amazing and adventurous, that just being alive presents so many awesome possibilities. Wow! 

That’s why, like the psalmist did so long ago, we can also confidently declare: ‘This is the day the Lord has made, we will rejoice and be glad in it! ‘Glory to God my believing brethren! 

When I consider how faithful and LOVING, He is, my heart just overflows with LOVE for Him. Take yesterday for instance. I had to go into the city early for some blood work. The traffic was rough in some places, but not bad overall, and I got there early. 

And you better believe the Lord carried me, because I parked at the front of the building and the lab is way at the back, round several twists and turns, then up on the third floor. I certainly could not have made it without His help. 

Coming back out was just as bad, although I took a different route. When I finally got to the front of the building, I had to sit down for a couple of minutes and rest. 

And surprisingly, getting out of Toronto was worse than getting in, with construction and road work everywhere that I travelled, and people crossing against the no-cross sign. The highways were also bad, so bad that I had to change my usual route to get home. 

But as He promised, the Lord took me there safely, and brought me back home safely, though somewhat tired and aggrieved. (smile) Yes friends, just remember that our God is faithful – EVER-FAITHFUL is one of His many names! 

That’s why we can do what Bruh Paul proclaims in our Bit: ‘Rejoice in the Lord always: and again I say, Rejoice.’ 

Yeh, precious people, if our wonderful God wasn’t faithful and kind, and LOVING, and merciful and gracious and understanding and compassionate and omnipotent, with our names written boldly in the Lamb’s Book of Life, we wouldn’t have the wherewithal to be a rejoicing body of people. 

As Christians, we’re supposed to be the happiest people in the world! Hn! But you’d never believe that from the way so many of us behave sad and droopy, as though we have the whole weight of the world on our shoulders. 

And that, after our Lord offered this Great Invitation: ‘Come unto me, all ye that labour and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you, and learn of (from) me; for I am meek and lowly in heart (gentle and humble): and you shall find rest unto your souls. For my yoke is easy, and my burden is light.’ (Matt.11:28-30) 

Oh friends, what’s so difficult in that to understand eh? And if you believe in Jesus at all, that should just make you break out in a big smile and have you hurrying to lay your troubles before Him! 

But the problem is, I suspect, that many of us who claim to be Christians don’t truly believe in Jesus or in His many wonderful promises. Our minds may say we do, but not in our hearts, where it truly matters, else we wouldn’t be so wishy-washy and miserable and forlorn and downcast as we too often are. 

Ah mih people, I’m chuckling here because that wasn’t the ‘sermon’ I had intended to write, but the Holy Spirit guided me to it. And since I’m only the messenger, an obedient one too (smile), I had to do as I was told. 

Well, hopefully, there’ll be tomorrow, and I might get to preach the sermon – sorry, teach the lesson, I’ve been wanting to teach for the last two days. 

Don’t worry though friends, it’s all good. The Lord is on His throne in the high heavens, and He is still in complete control of all of man’s plans and movements, so there is no need to fear. 

Consequently, let’s go home declaring our Tuesday Mantra with oodles of self-confidence and assurance. As one now: ‘I’m not what I do. I’m not what I have. I’m not what people say about me. I am the beloved of God, that’s who I am. No one can take that from me. I don’t have to worry. I don’t have to hurry. I can trust my friend Jesus and share His LOVE with the world.  Amen!’ 

Oh isn’t that so beautiful and encouraging! Now let’s go and put it into action, by sharing the true, true LOVE of Jesus, as He desires of us. Much LOVE!

…by this shall all men know…that ye are my disciples…if ye have LOVE …one to another… (John 13:35)

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

