Today’s Scrip-Bit 18 January 2017 Psalm 23:1.

Psalm 23:1.   The Lord is my shepherd; I shall not want (lack).

Well well my brethren, it seems like it’s going to be another mild but wet and gloomy day in my neighbourhood. But once it’s not the white stuff that’s coming down I am happy. (smile) 

As always, I do hope that we gave our most awesome God sincere thanks and praise for causing us to see another great day on His wonderful planet earth. 

And please don’t laugh sarcastically or get cynical, because every day we’re alive is indeed a great day, and planet earth is indeed a wonderful place! Any negative happenings are our fault, not the Lord’s. 

So what’s happening today, you ask? Well we’re going to continue looking at some wonderful scriptures that corroborate the words of Bruh David in Psalm 23. 

First of all let’s check out a wonderful passage from Ezekiel which encompasses the first two verses: ‘The Lord is my shepherd; I shall not want (lack). He maketh me to lie down in green pastures (pastures of tender green grass): he leadeth me beside the still waters (waters of rest). (Ps.23:1-2)  

In his prophecy against the sinful shepherds of Israel, Ezekiel declares on the Lord’s behalf: ‘For thus saith the Lord God: Behold, I, even I, will both search my sheep, and seek them out. 

As a shepherd seeketh out his flock in the day that he is among his sheep that are scattered; so will I seek out my sheep, and will deliver them out of all the places where they have been scattered in the cloudy and dark day. 

And I will bring them out from the people, and gather them from the countries, and will bring them to their own land, and feed them upon the mountains of Israel by the rivers (streams), and in all the inhabited places of the country. 

I will feed them in a good pasture, and upon the high mountains of Israel shall their fold be: there shall they lie in a good fold, and in a fat (rich) pasture shall they feed upon the mountains of Israel. I will feed my flock, and I will cause them to lie down, saith the Lord God. 

I will seek that which was lost, and bring again that which was driven away, and will bind up that which was broken, and will strengthen that which was sick: but I will destroy the fat and the strong; I will feed them with judgement (justice).’ (Ezek.34:11-16) 

Oh friends, what beautiful promises from our Most High God Jehovah! I’m sure some of us never even knew that such a scripture existed. 

But there are thousands of sincere promises just like that throughout the Good Book, and if we’d take the time to read and seek them out, our lives would so much more encouraged and assured, since our faithful God NEVER reneges on any of His promises. 

And if you say, oh that’s in the Old Testament, so what? That’s why so many of us are lost and suffering; because we don’t know what came before us. As the saying goes: how can you know where you’re going, when you don’t know where you’re coming from? 

And that’s the living truth! Our history is not taught or preached anymore; consequently so many lost souls exist in a vacuum today. 

And if you still denigrate that scripture because it comes from the Old Testament, then listen to this one from the New Testament which fulfills that promise. 

‘Then said Jesus unto them again, Verily, verily, I say unto you, I am the door of the sheep. All that ever came before me are thieves and robbers: but the sheep did not hear them. I am the door: by me if any man enter in, he shall be saved, and shall go in and out, and find pasture. 

The thief cometh not, but for (except) to steal, and to kill, and to destroy: I am come that they might have life, and that they might have it more abundantly. I am the good shepherd: the good shepherd giveth his life for the sheep. 

But he that is a hireling (hired man) and not the shepherd, whose own the sheep are not, seeth the wolf coming, and leaveth the sheep, and fleeth: and the wolf catcheth them, and scattereth the sheep. The hireling fleeth, because he is a hireling, and careth not for the sheep. I am the good shepherd, and know my sheep, and am known of mine.’ (John 10:7-14) 

There you have it friends, the overwhelming promise of our Lord and Saviour Jesus Christ! Let’s hope we believe it, and live our lives accordingly. And that’s enough scripture for us to ponder on today, (smile) so let’s go home declaring our Wednesday Wail with a strong sense of purpose nuh. 

As one now: ‘Wednesday, Wednesday, Wednesday: I’m so glad to be alive on this Wednesday! Wednesday, Wednesday, Wednesday: Thank God the breath of life is still flowing through me on this Wednesday! I am halfway home. 

My hands are fixed securely on the plough, and I’m not turning back. I’m not looking back at the past, not focusing on what has gone before. But my eyes are fixed straight ahead; straight ahead to a glorious future with Jesus. Glory Hallelujah!’ 

Much LOVE, my faithful brethren!

…history is a record of the past…that helps us to understand the present…and wisely contemplate the future…

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

