Today’s Scrip-Bit 13 January 2017 Psalm 119:165.

Psalm 119:165.   Great peace have they which LOVE thy law: and nothing shall offend them (cause them to stumble).

Ah mih people, so early in the year we come upon a Friday the 13th, which causes many of us to get fearful, simply because of all the old-wives tales about the negative happenings that can occur on such a day. But that’s all they are friends, old-wives tales, so please don’t let them have any effect on us today. 

It didn’t seem to have any on the band of workers that appeared early this morning singing: ‘TGIF! Thank God is Friday! It’s the weekend once again! Though is only two days now…Chuh! All them nice long ones done come and gone now. 

But still the weekend is the weekend; no work and no massa looking over yuh shoulder. And best of all plenty eating and drinking and partying! Wow! Thank God for small mercies oui!’ 

Ah friends, although we’re in a new year, nothing has changed, the weekend is still looked upon as a time for hearty partying, which totally demeans its standing in our society and hides its true purpose. 

Instead, let’s chant our Friday Chant, which shows a better perspective on the use of the weekend. In unison now: ‘Oh Lord, thanks for getting me safely through another week of work! It hasn’t been easy, but with your generous help, I made it through. 

Now, please help me to get sufficient fun, fellowship, rest and relaxation in these two short days off, so that I can be renewed and refreshed in soul, body and mind, to go back out and do it all over again next week, furthering your glorious kingdom with each step I take. I pray this in Jesus name. Amen.’ 

Yes my brethren, that’s a more godly and sensible way to use our two measly days off from work, not simply delving into the depths of debauchery. (smile) 

And to add to it all, we have a rather interesting Bit for today. ‘Great peace have they which LOVE thy law: and nothing shall offend them (cause them to stumble). 

Now isn’t that rather inviting and promising? It surely is! If we LOVE the Lord’s word, then peace, no, great peace shall flow through our souls! Glory Hallelujah! 

Now who wouldn’t want that eh? The whole world is currently searching for peace, but unfortunately they are looking in all the wrong places, while the right place is before their very eyes – the Word of God. 

Hear how Cousin Sol puts it in Proverbs, re exhortations to obedience. ‘My son, forget not my law; but let thine heart keep my commandments: For length of days, and long life, and peace, shall they add to thee.’ (Prov.3:1-2) 

Oh friends, why wouldn’t anybody in their right minds long for long life and peace eh, especially when all you have to do is to keep the Lord’s commandments? 

But I guess the majority of the world is not in their right minds, since they seem to abhor the keeping of God’s commands. And that’s exactly why the world is in its current state of immense turmoil and strife. 

Now listen to Isaiah from his hymn of praise. ‘Thou wilt keep him in perfect peace, whose mind is stayed on (sustained by) thee: because he trusteth in thee.’ (Is.26:3) 

What a beautiful promise that is my people! If we keep our minds on God, He will sustain us in perfect peace. That means whatever is happening around us won’t detract from the peace we feel within. 

And I can testify to that, for when my mother unexpectedly died some years ago, while I was in California, I was upset and disappointed and all that, but nevertheless a certain calm, a certain peace reigned within my soul and I was able to handle the situation wisely. 

I can still remember those around me wondering how I was so calm, but that wasn’t my doing, my soul was simply flooded with God’s peace, and was I ever surprised by it. 

Listen to Isaiah again on the subject. ‘And the work of righteousness shall be peace; and the effect of righteousness quietness and assurance for ever.’ (Is.32:17) 

Mama Mia! What an awesome promise from our awesome God! But how many of us know about it eh, or even choose to take it up? Not many enough! 

And we’ll close with this quote from Jesus Himself, the giver of all peace. He said it thus to the disciples. ‘Peace I leave with you, my peace I give unto you: not as the world giveth, give I unto you. Let not your heart be troubled, neither let it be afraid.’ (John 14:27) 

Friends, if that doesn’t touch our hearts and wake us up, then I don’t know what else will. If the Prince of Peace offers you His peace, then that should close the deal right there and then. And please note, it’s an entirely different kind of peace to what the world has to offer. 

But mankind is so taken up with its own vain and futile self that we’re foolishly bypassing the very peace that we seek, and the consequences will be tragic if we continue to ignore the peace offered by Jesus Christ, our Lord and Saviour. Please let that be warning to us. Much LOVE!

…he who has ears to hear…let him hear…

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

