Today’s Scrip-Bit 6 January 2017 2 Corinthians 5:7.

2 Corinthians 5:17.    (For we walk by faith, not by sight:)

Well friends, the king is finally back in his castle! Yeahhh! They finally let me out of the medical madhouse this morning! Glory Hallelujah! And does it ever feel good to be back home! As they say, there’s definitely no place like home! 

Now being home did not make my physical self any better, but it certainly improved my spiritual side – what with all the peace and quiet, compared to the craziness, the hustle and bustle and noise of the hospital. At one stage I even asked the duchess how come the place was so quiet, like a morgue? 

Hn, hn! So glad was I to be set free, that I was singing with the heathen: ‘TGIF! Thank God is Friday! I’m free! Free like a bird in a tree, and I’m going to spread my wings and soar this Friday! I’m going to fly wherever and whenever I want to, and enjoy this weekend like it’s my last! Thank God for Fridays and the weekend oui!’ 

Ah mih people, what thoughts can freedom bring, after being cooped up in a little cubby hole of a room for five days with an older, somewhat incapacitated gentleman. But we know that giving into our fleshly feelings is not the right way to go, so please let’s chant our Friday Chant, which gives us a much better perspective on the situation. 

Chanting: ‘Oh Lord, thanks for getting me safely through another week of work! It hasn’t been easy, but with your generous help, I made it through. Now, please help me to get sufficient fun, fellowship, rest and relaxation in these two short days off, so that I can be renewed and refreshed in soul, body and mind, to go back out and do it all over again next week, furthering your glorious kingdom with each step I take. I pray this in Jesus name. Amen.’ 

Now that’s more like what we need, a sense of balance in our lives, otherwise we’d just flame out uncontrollably, which would not be the Christian thing to do. Sorry that the Bit has been so late the past few days, but I just didn’t have the wherewithal to do it earlier, and as I get my strength back, it’ll be sent our earlier, for neither, snow, sleet, nor rain, sickness or death must stop it from going out! (smile) 

And today we’re going to look at some more scriptures which encourage me and keep me going, starting with our Bit. ‘(For we walk by faith, not by sight:)’ 

Yes my fellow believers, in the kingdom of God, we first have to believe it before we see it. For as the writer of Hebrews tells us: ‘Now faith is the substance (realization) of things hoped for, the evidence (conviction) of things not seen.’ (Heb.11:1) Now that is exactly what faith does! It keeps one hoping and hanging in with great expectations. 

And as Bruh Paul said to the Romans ‘For we are saved by hope: but hope that is seen is not hope: for what a man seeth, why doth he yet hope for? But if we hope for that we see not, then do we with patience (perseverance) (eagerly) wait for it.’ (Rom 8:24-25). 

And friends, there could be no greater faith shown than that of Job, who though he was brought to his knees for apparently no good reason, then was deserted by his friends and family, yet he still could say with strong conviction: ‘Though he slay me, yet will I trust in him: but I will maintain mine own ways before him. He also shall be my salvation: for a hypocrite shall not come before him.’ (Job 13:15-16). 

Yes mih people, that is what great faith is really all about! As the scholars tell us: ‘13:15. Though he slay me, yet will I trust in him expresses the unquenchable faith of one who lives by faith, not by sight. Even when it appears that God Himself has turned against Job, he will still trust in God.’ 

Oh, how I sincerely hope and desire that many more of us supposed modern-day Christians would even display one iota of Job’s faith! For what a wonderful movement Christianity would then be, full of real action and not just simply talk. 

Now here is a little snippet from our friend Bubba Joel Osteen: ‘Fear and faith have something in common – they both ask us to believe in something that we cannot see.’ So you see that fear and faith both call for the same actions; believing without seeing. That begs the question: why fear when it’s much easier and powerful to have faith eh?

And we will close with these wonderful verses of Psalm 130 – My soul waiteth for the Lord – ‘Out of the depths have I cried unto thee, O Lord. Lord, hear my voice: let thine ears be attentive to the voice of my supplications. If thou, Lord, shouldest mark iniquities, O Lord, who shall stand? 

But there is forgiveness with thee that thou mayest be feared. I wait for the Lord, my soul doth wait, and in his word do I hope. My soul waiteth for the Lord more than they that watch for the morning: Let Israel hope in the Lord: for with the Lord there is mercy and with him is plenteous redemption. And he shall redeem Israel from all his iniquities.’ (Ps 130:1-8). 

Yeh friends, in the final analysis it all boils down to waiting and hoping in the Lord, our wonderful Creator and most generous Provider. That’s the only thing that makes any sense in this crazy world. Much LOVE!

…standing…standing…standing on the promises of God…   

P.S. I tried friends, but halfway through I had to call in my young D to do the heavy lifting for me. I just couldn’t handle it all on my lonesome. That’s why Jesus recommended two over one. (smile) Much LOVE!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

