Today’s Scrip-Bit 5 January 2017 Psalm 103:1.

Psalm 103:1.   Bless the Lord, O my soul: and all that is within me, bless his holy name.

Ah friends, my dream was crushed early this morning when I heard the edict from the medic – one more day! At first I was disappointed, but then sometime later on in the day, I felt so terrible that I was glad that he kept me here. 

Oh, before I forget, let me apologize for forgetting to include the Wednesday Wail in yesterday’s Bit. I won’t assign any blame, but if I was up to scratch, that wouldn’t happen. Sorry mih young D. (smile) 

Now when I say that the Lord is good to those who trust in Him I’m talking from hard experience. And today was a most excellent example, for while I was here going through my shortness of breath and other problems, some beautiful and reassuring scriptures just flowed through my soul and brought a breath of fresh air to my spirit. 

Let’s check out some of those overwhelming promises nuh. I don’t remember in what order they came, but we’ll begin with this famous one from Psalm 42 – An intense longing for God – as the sons of Korah declare: ‘Why art thou cast (bowed) down, O my soul? And why art thou disquieted within me? Hope thou in God: for I shall yet praise him for the help of his countenance (presence). (Ps.42:5) 

Ah mih people that is indeed a most reassuring scripture. Then sometime in there I remembered this particular name of our God – Jehovah Rapha – the Lord is thy Healer. And is that ever true friends! For the Lord is indeed our Creator, our Comforter and Healer – among so many other things. I can never stop being amazed at the wonderful God we LOVE and serve! 

And this one from Psalm 30 – A thanksgiving for deliverance from death – brought a tear to my eyes., as Bruh David entreats: ‘I cried to thee, O Lord; and unto the Lord I made supplication. What profit is there in my blood, when I go down to the pit (grave)? Shall the dust praise the? Shall it declare thy truth? Hear, O Lord, and have mercy upon me: Lord be thou my helper.’ (Ps.30:9) 

Ah friends excuse me for a minute, because the tears just suddenly began flowing unexpectedly on me. But I guess that deep down I’m somewhat disappointed by the slender thread by which I’m holding on now, since the Lord put so many desires in my heart, very few of which I’ve yet accomplished. 

And I sincerely felt that I had His promise that He wouldn’t take me home until I’ve accomplished most, if not all of them, that it seems a shame to let all that go to waste, especially when it’s all for His glorification. 

Yes, I know that all things are possible through Christ who strengthens me, but when push comes to shove, when the reality of your mortal life hits you square in the face, it’s easier said than done to calmly accept it. And the recent passing of so many of my friends and acquaintances doesn’t make it any easier to accept. 

However, I know that life’s not always fair, but our great God IS GOOD! And even further, He will work everything out for good to those who LOVE Him and are called to His purpose. I will therefore operate under that principle, and bow to His will. 

Now let’s turn to our Bit and some of the scriptures that follow it. ‘Bless the Lord, O my soul: and all that is within me, bless his holy name. Bless the Lord, O my soul, and forget not all his benefits. Who forgiveth all thine iniquities: who healeth all thy diseases; 

Who redeemeth thy life from destruction; who crowneth thee with LOVING-kindness and tender mercies. Who satisfieth thy mouth with good things; so that thy youth be renewed like the eagle.’ (Ps.103:1-5) 

Yeh friends, it’s easy to forget God’s goodness in times of trial, but that’s exactly when we need to remember them. Now let’s go home declaring our Thursday Blessings. I didn’t forget it. (smile) And remember, a blessing is not a blessing until it’s been spoken over someone. 

So in strong voice and true belief, let’s do it. ‘I declare that I am blessed with God’s supernatural wisdom and receive clear direction for my life! I declare today that I am blessed with creativity, courage, talent and abundance! I am blessed with a strong will, self-control and self-discipline! 

I am blessed with a great family, good friends, good health, faith, favour and fulfillment! I am blessed with success, supernatural strength, promotion and divine protection! I am blessed with a compassionate heart and a positive outlook on life! 

I declare that any curse or negative word that’s ever been spoken over me is broken right now in the name of Jesus! I declare that everything I put my hands to will prosper and succeed! I declare it today and every day! Amen!’ 

Now let’s go out and put all of that into action as Jesus desires of us. Much LOVE!

…and now, Lord…what wait I for…my hope is in thee.. (Ps. 39:7)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

