Today’s Scrip-Bit 4 January 2017 Psalm 27:14

Psalm 27:14.   Wait (in faith) on the Lord: be of good courage, and He shall strengthen thy heart: wait, I say, on the Lord.

Ah mih people, the ole fella is here again. I thought I was going home today but the medical people had other thoughts. So I’m still here, looking out my window on to the roof of the 1st  floor with all the vents and a parking lot that now seems to be covered with snow. 

I wanted to write the Bit earlier today, but decided to wait because I thought I was going home. So by the time I discovered that I wasn’t going home they had me up and down for this test and this x-ray and otherwise and it just wasn’t convenient to do it then what with visitors coming and going, plus I had to wait on my writer to come (smile). 

Thankfully though, around lunch time my inimitable pastor, Father Jeff, came to visit, said some prayers with me, and perked me up and brought our Bit to mind ‘Wait (in faith) on the Lord: be of good courage, and He shall strengthen thy heart: wait, I say, on the Lord.’ 

And when you really think about it mih breddren, that’s all I can do yes; wait in faith, and hope that the Lord strengthens my heart, because that seems to be the problem, a weak heart! As the ole people would say, after one time is two time, and that’s definitely true! 

And nobody knew that better than Bruh David, as he said just before our Bit ‘I had fainted, unless I had believed to see the goodness of the Lord in the land of the living’ (Ps. 27:13). More truth my people, because if we don’t expect God’s goodness down here, what is the whole point of living eh? 

Now listen to how Isaiah puts it in his song of praise by the redeemed: ‘He will swallow up death in victory; and the Lord God will wipe away tears from off all faces; and the rebuke of his people shall he take away from off all the earth: for the Lord hath spoken it. And it shall be said in that day, Lo, this is our God; we have waited for him and he will save us: this is the Lord; we have waited for him, we will be glad and rejoice in his salvation.’ (Is. 25:8-9). 

Oh what a wonderful promise my fellow believers! And we know that the Lord always keeps His promises, so just hang on, even though life may be somewhat rough, the rewards will be spectacular to say the least. 

And hear Isaiah again in his hymn of praise ‘Yea, in the way of thy judgements O Lord, have we waited for thee; the desire of our soul is to thy name, and to the remembrance of thee. With my soul I have desired thee in the night; yea, with my spirit within me will I seek thee early: for when thy judgments are in the earth, the inhabitants of the world will learn righteousness.’ (Is. 26:8-9). 

And remember how long the Israelites waited for the Messiah, several hundred years, but He eventually came in the form of our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ, breaking all the chains of death, hell and the grave. So we can proclaim like Bruh Paul did. 

‘Death is swallowed up in victory. O death, where is thy sting? O grave, where is thy victory? The sting of death is sin; and the strength of sin is the law. But thanks be to God, which giveth us the victory through our Lord Jesus Christ.’ (1 Cor 15:54b-57). 

That means as believers we are victorious, so there is no need to worry or be anxious about anything, because Christ has already paid the price and we just have to live obediently until He returns. 

Now hear how Bruh Paul puts it to Titus as he talks about the Christian life ‘For the grace of God that bringeth salvation hath appeared to all men. Teaching us that, denying ungodliness and worldly lusts, we should live soberly, righteously, and godly, in this present world. 

Looking for that blessed hope, and the glorious appearing of the great God and our Savior Jesus Christ; Who gave himself for us, that he might redeem us from all iniquity and purify unto himself a peculiar people, zealous of good works. (Titus 2:11-14). 

Ah friends, that’s about it for tonight yes, the ole fella is tired and I hope the Bit makes sense. Hn! But as always, I know that you all are bright enough to pick sense out of nonsense (smile). So until tomorrow, the Lord in favour, please stand strong and steadfast in his LOVE. Much LOVE my people!

…I have waited for thy salvation, O Lord… (Gen 49:18).

 

Leave a Reply

