Today’s Scrip-Bit 4 December 2016 Proverbs 1:7

Proverbs 1:7.    The fear (reverential awe) of the Lord is the (principal) beginning of knowledge: but fools despise wisdom and instruction.

Ah mih people, the ole fella went a partying last night. And was it ever a good party! A friend celebrated her fiftieth, half-century birthday with a big bash. 

The food was good – West Indian obviously – the socializing was excellent – a gathering of friends, family and co-workers, and the music was jamming! Glory be! 

But yuh know what? Last night was the time my ole knees chose to act up some. Chuh! But though they slowed me down some, they never stopped me from partying heartily. (smile) 

However, there’s a time and place for everything; last night was for partying, but this Sunday morning, the Lord’s Day, is the time for worshipping, being in fellowship with other believers, giving thanks and praise to our wonderful God and Maker, while receiving His strength and faith to face another week in this evil world. 

And to begin those proceedings, let’s offer up some sacrifice of praise through the awesome words of this song we all know and LOVE; ‘It is Well with My Soul.’ 

So, in strong voice, with sincere heart and unwavering passion, let’s sing! ‘When peace, like a river, attendeth my way, When sorrows like sea billows roll; Whatever my lot, Thou hast taught me to say, It is well, it is well with my soul. (Refrain): It is well with my soul, It is well, it is well with my soul. 

Though Satan should buffet, though trials should come, Let this blest assurance control, That Christ hath regarded my helpless estate, And hath shed His own blood for my soul. (Refrain) 

My sin—oh, the bliss of this glorious thought! — My sin, not in part but the whole, Is nailed to the cross, and I bear it no more, Praise the Lord, praise the Lord, O my soul! (Refrain) 

For me, be it Christ, be it Christ hence to live: If Jordan above me shall roll, No pang shall be mine, for in death as in life Thou wilt whisper Thy peace to my soul. (Refrain) 

But, Lord, ’tis for Thee, for Thy coming we wait, The sky, not the grave, is our goal; Oh, trump of the angel! Oh, voice of the Lord! Blessed hope, blessed rest of my soul! (Refrain) 

And Lord, haste the day when the faith shall be sight, The clouds be rolled back as a scroll; The trump shall resound, and the Lord shall descend, Even so, it is well with my soul. (Refrain).’ 

Yes friends, regardless of our earthly circumstances, we can say with certainty, that it is well with our souls because our Lord and Saviour Jesus Christ paid for our sins with His vicarious death on the cross at Calvary! 

Wow! What a champion, our Jesus! 

And all God’s people declared a loud and proud: ‘Thanks be to God, the giver of salvation and eternal life!’ 

Now, though I wasn’t planning to, I guess I should share this working of God with you all. Well to make a long story short, last week I tried to make a maintenance appointment for my furnace, but could not get one until next February. However, a couple of days later they called me back with one for last Friday. 

So the fellow came and I was there telling him that I hope he wasn’t going to shut it down. But lo and behold, once He opened it up and looked inside, that is exactly what he did, because the heat exchanger was seriously cracked and if left running could eventually lead to the deadly gas which it runs on being released in the house. 

Obviously I wasn’t pleased, but deep down I knew something was wrong and did not get all upset. The furnace was thirty years old anyway. So we’ve been without central heat in the house since Friday afternoon, getting by with a couple of heat savers, one of which is running behind me right now, as I write this in my cold basement office. 

But I’m comfortable. And it’s a good thing that the weather hasn’t been that cold, like below freezing, since they can’t replace the furnace until Monday. But enough of my minor problems, the Lord is good and we shall get by. 

Let’s turn to our Bit, one of the most instructive verses in the Good Book. ‘The fear (reverential awe) of the Lord is the (principal) beginning of knowledge: but fools despise wisdom and instruction.’ 

Yes my brethren, until we learn to acknowledge the reverence our magnificent and magnanimous God truly deserves, we won’t be able to acquire true wisdom. And we’re not talking about what the world considers wisdom, but what our God, whose thoughts and ways are higher than ours, considers wisdom. 

Now here are a couple of scriptures which corroborate our Bit. Yesterday we saw what Job had to say (Job 28:12, 28) Today, let’s listen to the psalmist from Psalm 111 – Praise the Lord for His care. 

‘The fear of the Lord (an awe-filled reverence towards the Lord) is the beginning of wisdom: a good understanding have all they that do his commandments: his praise endureth for ever.’ (Ps.111:10) 

Yeh friends, obeying the Lord’s commandments is a sure way to gain true understanding, which leads us to continually praise His Holy Name! 

And we’ll end with these wise words from the Preacher, the last three verses of Ecclesiastes. ‘And further, by these, my son, be admonished: of making many books there is no end; and much study is a weariness of the flesh. 

Let us hear the conclusion of the whole matter: Fear God, and keep his commandments: for this is the whole duty of man. For God shall bring every work into judgement, with every secret thing, whether it be good, or whether it be evil.’ (Eccl.12:13-14) 

And the scholars explain: ‘12:12-14. God has not answered every problem of life, but He has commanded man to live joyfully, responsibly, and wisely. Finally, the controlling factor of all life should be the fear of God, that is, submission to God and His revelation. (cf. Prov.1:7). The certainty of divine judgement demands it.’ 

There we have it friends, words of wisdom for us to live by! So let’s be wise and live by them nuh. Much LOVE!

…joy, responsibility and wisdom…the basic fundamentals of Christian living…

 

Leave a Reply

