Today’s Scrip-Bit 4 November 2016 Isaiah 41:10.

Isaiah 41:10.   Fear thou not; for I am with thee: be not dismayed; for I am thy God: I will strengthen thee; yea, I will help thee; yea, I will uphold thee with the right hand of my righteousness.

Ah friends, the working people as usual declaring their loud shouts of ‘TGIF! Thank God it’s Friday! Hurray! The weekend finally here and we going to live it up like there was no tomorrow. Thank God for Fridays and the weekend yes!’ 

But my heart really isn’t in the celebration nuh, because once again I turned on my computer this morning and received the sad news of the passing of one of my University mates, Selvin Goldson in Jamaica. 

Apparently he died of a heart attack while driving. That’s all I know. But…Chuh! This scenario is playing out too often these days yes! One day I might just turn on the computer and see news of my own demise. (smile) 

But seriously friends, each passing of our friends and associates makes us think more acutely about our own mortality. We know we all have to go over to the other side at some time or other, but for some reason or other we never seem prepared for it. It always seems to take us unawares. 

Anyhow, there’s not much we can do when the Grim Reaper comes a calling, and I’d like to extend sincere condolences to the Goldson family, and let them know that our thoughts and prayers are with them in their time of grief. 

Those of who remain though, have to keep diligently and faithfully plodding on in our work for Christ, and since today is Friday, let’s chant our Friday Chant with sincere appreciation for being blessed to see another glorious day on God’s great earth. 

All together now: ‘Oh Lord, thanks for getting me safely through another week of work! It hasn’t been easy, but with your generous help, I made it through. 

Now, please help me to get sufficient fun, fellowship, rest and relaxation in these two short days off, so that I can be renewed and refreshed in soul, body and mind, to go back out and do it all over again next week, furthering your glorious kingdom with each step I take. I pray this in Jesus name. Amen.’ 

Yeh mih people, we need to handle our weekends differently than the majority of the world. We need to put a different perspective in place if we truly want to be followers of Christ. And our God is so wonderful that He gives us oodles of encouragement and security in these difficult times. 

Listen to our Bit: ‘Fear thou not; for I am with thee: be not dismayed; for I am thy God: I will strengthen thee; yea, I will help thee; yea, I will uphold thee with the right hand of my righteousness.’ 

What awesome promises my brethren! The problem though is that God makes them, but we have to receive them, and that’s where we often fall down. Our faith sometimes doesn’t allow us to accept and believe them, since they seem contrary to what we’re facing in this evil world. 

But friends, by now we should all know that our wonderful God is also a faithful God! He never promises stuff that He can’t deliver. And since He’s the Creator and Controller of the universe, since He’s omnipotent, omniscient and omni-present, then there’s absolutely NOTHING He can’t do. 

That means the onus is on us to build our faith, to stand strong on His word. That’s why He also gave us His Holy Spirit; to help and comfort us in times of need and sorrow. And if we don’t find strength in our Bit, then listen to Isaiah a few verses later. 

‘For I the Lord thy God will hold thy right hand, saying unto thee, Fear not; I will help thee. Fear not, thou worm Jacob, and ye men of Israel; I will help thee, saith the Lord, and thy redeemer, the Holy One of Israel.’ (Is.41:13-14) 

How much more encouragement and assurance do we need eh my brethren? With all the Lord has done for us, the many miracles He’s wrought in our lives, our faith should be much stronger by now. 

And the scholars offer these insights on that section. ’41:10-20. In view of the judgement that is coming upon Israel, God reminds her, I am with thee…I am thy God. 

The designation thou worm Jacob is a reminder to Israel of her frailty and need for God who is pictured as her redeemer and the Holy One of Israel. The latter designation is Isaiah’s favourite expression for God and appears equally throughout both halves of the book…’ 

And friends, do we ever need God’s help in these end times. I believe we’re in even worse shape, even frailer than Israel back in those days, for godlessness is so rampant and widespread now that it’s unbelievable to us of the older generation. 

We have seen it go from being pretty good to being pretty bad in such a short time, that it boggles the imagination. But then again, a lot of the blame lies with us; we weren’t as strong and faithful as we ought to have been, therefore this generation doesn’t have the same godly upbringing that we had. 

But it’s not too late for us to try and recapture some of what we’ve lost, if we sincerely and diligently get in the groove with Jesus and work steadfastly towards it. 

Now let’s end with some help from Moses, as he passes on the mantle of leadership to Joshua. He tells him: ‘Be thou strong and of a good courage, fear not, nor be afraid of them: for the Lord thy God, he it is that doth go before thee; he will not fail thee, nor forsake thee.’ (Deut.31:6) 

And that’s gospel truth precious people of God! Therefore, let’s wake up and smell the roses and try to make the world a better place than it currently is nuh. Not so much for us, but for our children, and our children’s children. That is wisdom for all time! Much LOVE!

…there is only one Power…and one Presence here…God the Good Omnipotent…!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

