Today’s Scrip-Bit 27 October 2016 Matthew 5:6.

Matthew 5:6.   Blessed are they which do hunger and thirst after righteousness: for they shall be filled.

Well a blessed Thursday to all you my Scrip-Bit friends and family! May the Lord indeed bless you and keep you safe today as you go about doing His work. 

And let me ensure you that though it’s wet and dark and dreary in my little corner of the universe, I can still see the bright and brilliant light of the Son, our Lord and Saviour Jesus Christ shining through the gloom. 

Likewise, whatever the physical characteristics of the day may be in your area, please be assured that the light of Christ is also shining through to you. You just have to accept it and bask in its eternal glow. 

Now here is something from our One Year Book of Bible Promises with writings by Ruth Harms Calkin that spoke to me and asked to be shared. (smile) It’s called ‘My Glorious Enough.’ 

Please read with me. ‘Oh, how I LOVE You, my Lord – But not enough. How I hunger and thirst for You – But not enough. How I rejoice in your inimitable goodness – But not enough. 

Pour Yourself lavishly, dear God Into every vacant hollow Into every cluttered chamber Of my longing heart. Free me from every shallow substitute From every hidden pretense Until I shall know With deep, consuming conviction That You are my Glorious Enough.’ 

Isn’t that a beautiful prayer? It surely is! It just has us clamouring for God ‘s righteousness, because we know that in Him we have more than enough of everything. 

And the promise for that poem, as well as our Bit for today is the wonderful Beatitude from Christ’s Sermon on the Mount. ‘Blessed are they which do hunger and thirst after righteousness: for they shall be filled.’ 

Now that’s definitely an awesome promise, and we know that Christ never reneges on any of His promises, but are we truly hungering and thirsting after the Lord and His righteousness? 

Now that’s the priceless question? I do hope so, because it’s essential if we are to grow and mature as true Christians. 

And the scholars explain. ‘5:6. These future possessors of the earth are its presently installed rightful heirs, and even now they hunger and thirst after righteousness. They experience a deep desire for personal righteousness, which in itself is proof of their spiritual rebirth. 

Those who are poor and empty in their own spiritual poverty recognize the depth of their need, and they hunger and thirst for that which only God can give them. They shall be filled (Gr. chortazo) refers to a complete satisfaction. The psalmist proclaimed: “He satisfieth the longing soul, and filleth the hungry soul with goodness.” (Ps.107:9).’ 

Yes friends, if we hunger and thirst after the things of the Lord, He will fill us with them. Even before Jesus came along, we had this promise from the Father. Hear Isaiah declare it. 

‘Ho, every one that thirsteth, come ye to the waters, and that hath no money; come ye, buy, and eat: yea, come, buy wine and milk without money and without price. 

Wherefore do ye spend money for that which is not bread? And your labour for that which satisfieth not? hearken diligently unto me, and eat ye that which is good, and let your soul delight itself in fatness (abundance). 

Incline your ear, and come unto me: hear, and your soul shall live; and I will make an everlasting covenant with you, even the sure mercies of David.’ (Is.55:1-3) 

What an invitation my people! Let’s hope we are wise enough to accept it. For as the scholars tell us: ’55:1-7. God’s free gift of salvation is offered to all who will receive it. Those who are spiritually hungry and thirsty may come and eat and drink without money (or freely). 

He promises an everlasting covenant to the Gentiles like the one He established with Israel. His invitation to all men is clearly stated by the appeal, Seek ye the Lord and call ye upon him.’ 

Oh friends, what a wonderful God we serve, it never ceases to amaze me! Where else can we go and get spiritual food and drink for free eh? Absolutely nowhere else! 

Who else is prepared to make a covenant with us Gentiles eh? None but the amazing God of Abraham Isaac and Jacob! 

And He did it through the heartbreaking sacrifices of His Son Jesus Christ! Now what more do we need to believe that He is truly sincere in His deep and abiding care, compassion and LOVE for us eh? 

Anyway, my people, it’s imperative that we stay as close as possible to Christ as we can, if we want to enjoy all the benefits and blessings that He has to offer. 

And speaking of blessings, today is Thursday, so let’s go home declaring our Thursday Blessings over ourselves, for remember that a blessing is not a blessing until it’s been spoken over someone. 

Now with much enthusiasm and strong faith let’s do it: ‘I declare that I am blessed with God’s supernatural wisdom and receive clear direction for my life! I declare today that I am blessed with creativity, courage, talent and abundance! 

I am blessed with a strong will, self-control and self-discipline! I am blessed with a great family, good friends, good health, faith, favour and fulfillment! I am blessed with success, supernatural strength, promotion and divine protection! I am blessed with a compassionate heart and a positive outlook on life! 

I declare that any curse or negative word that’s ever been spoken over me is broken right now in the name of Jesus! I declare that everything I put my hands to will prosper and succeed! I declare it today and everyday! Amen!’ 

Yea mih breddren! And now that we’ve been gloriously blessed, let’s go out and win back the world for Christ! Much LOVE!

…the deep longing for Christ in our hearts…should make us always want to do our best on His behalf… 

P.S. Please excuse the lateness, it was just one of those late hockey filled nights. (smile) Much LOVE!

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

