Today’s Scrip-Bit 12 October 2016 Proverbs 8:17.

Proverbs 8:17.   I LOVE them that LOVE me; and those that seek me early (diligently) shall find me.

Oh my beautiful believers in Jesus Christ, once again we’ve been blessed to see another day on God’s great earth. Wow! 

A lot of others haven’t been so favoured. If you look in the obits, you’ll see their names there, but thankfully ours aren’t included. That means our heavenly Father has more wonderful and daring plans in mind for us to accomplish in His large and most excellent portfolio. 

And the best way to initiate those plans is by declaring up front: ‘This is the day the Lord has made, we WILL rejoice and be glad in it.’ 

Yeh friends, if we don’t appreciate and rejoice in the day that we’ve been blessed with, our names might as well have been included in the obits, because we’re just wasting God’s time and goodness. And what a shame that would be! 

Anyway, it’s Wednesday, and yuh know what that means? It’s wailing time! So let’s declare our Wednesday Wail with lots of enthusiasm, faith, trust, truth and whatever else it takes for these sentiments to truly blossom in our hearts, minds, bodies and souls. 

Wailing now: ‘Wednesday, Wednesday, Wednesday: I’m so glad to be alive on this Wednesday! Wednesday, Wednesday, Wednesday: Thank God the breath of life is still flowing through me on this Wednesday! 

I am halfway home. My hands are fixed securely on the plough, and I’m not turning back. I’m not looking back at the past, not focusing on what has gone before. But my eyes are fixed straight ahead; straight ahead to a glorious future with Jesus. Glory Hallelujah!’ 

Oh my faithful brethren, many of us are facing hard and difficult times, but I’m sure none of us are ready to go over to the other side just to get rid of  our earthly problems. Well the next best thing is to grab on securely to the plough that Jesus has offered us, look straight ahead and plough like we mad! (smile) 

We can learn from all the stuff that’s gone on in our pasts, but we must not let them weigh us down any further. A new day is dawning, our best days are still ahead of us, that’s why the Lord has left us down here. 

So please, let’s be truly thankful nuh for God’s breath of life that still has us alive and kicking, and look forward with patience, but also eager anticipation to the glorious future that our wonderful Lord and Saviour, Jesus Christ has promised us. Chuh! Anything less would be sacrilege. 

Yeh friends, the ole fella seems to be in fine form this morning. (smile) But we all know that what I’m saying is gospel truth, we’re just too lazy, scared or whatever to get in the real groove with Jesus. 

And before we get into our Bit, I’m going to give us one small, but very important task to do to show that we truly LOVE Jesus. It comes from my ‘P.S. I LOVE YOU’ Poster. And it simply says: ‘Today, give a stranger one of your smiles. It might be the only sunshine he sees all day.’ 

Now that isn’t so hard to do eh? At least it shouldn’t be. And we all know it’s true, it works, because we have all been energized and uplifted with a kind word or a smile from someone we didn’t know. Now I won’t know if we did our today task, but God will. Nuff said! 

Now here is our interesting Bit from the Proverbs of Cousin Sol, as he tries to teach us about wisdom and its everlasting nature. ‘I LOVE them that LOVE me; and those that seek me early (diligently) shall find me.’ 

Ah mih people, what undeniable words of wisdom about wisdom! (smile) And yuh know what? Seeking wisdom in this earthly life is really all about seeking God. Now hear some of the things we’ll find when we LOVE and seek after wisdom. 

‘Riches and honour are with me; yea, durable (enduring) riches and righteousness. My fruit is better than gold, yea, than fine gold; and my revenue than choice silver. I lead (walk) in the way of righteousness, in the midst of the paths of judgement (justice): That I may cause those that LOVE me to inherit substance (wealth); and I will fill their treasures.’ (Prov.8:18-21) 

Now why would anybody in their right mind not seek after wisdom eh? She provides honour and riches; enduring riches to boot! Riches that will last, unlike that gleaned from the world. She walks in righteousness, provides fruit that is better than the best gold and silver, and justice is her middle name! 

And she causes all those who seek and LOVE her to get wealth. Hn! True wisdom encompasses EVERYTHING my people! Once we sincerely seek her, we don’t have to seek for anything else, for she provides all that we need to live a good life. Ah friends, seeking wisdom is like seeking God! You cannot go wrong on either count! 

And we won’t get into it here, but wisdom is and was so important, that before the Lord even made the world, wisdom was in His toolbox. ‘The Lord possessed me in the beginning of his way, before his works of old. I was set up from everlasting, from the beginning, or ever the earth was.’ (Prov.8:22-23) 

Yeh friends, wisdom was around long before the earth was. So why are we so loathe to seek true wisdom eh, the kind that comes from God and not man? Who knows! 

But please let it be said, that until we truly seek and acquire godly wisdom, our lives will not be fulfilled to their godly potential. Much LOVE!

…seek me, seek me…is the constant cry of wisdom and our God…

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

