Today’s Scrip-Bit 8 October 2016 Psalm 95:2.

Psalm 95:2.    Let us come before his presence with thanksgiving, and make a joyful noise (shout joyfully) unto him with psalms (songs of praise).

Oh friends, it’s a wet and windy Thanksgiving Saturday morning in my neighbourhood. And we are thankful for those showers of blessings, but we also have to be concerned about the savage swath that Hurricane Matthew has cut across Haiti, the Bahamas and Florida, in the last few days. 

And although it has been downgraded somewhat, it still has the ability to do severe damage to the Carolinas’ coast, through storm surges; raising the coastal water level so that it floods the land. Please, let’s offer up sincere prayers for all those unfortunate enough to be caught up in the devastation caused by Matthew. 

And when I think about Haiti, my heart just breaks for those unfortunate people. Steups! Over the last few years they’ve been consistently battered by hurricane, earthquake, sickness, constant poverty and widespread corruption. They don’t seem to get a chance to recover from one devastation before another hits. 

And yet, we up here complain about petty stuff, most of us not knowing the ravages that natural disasters can cause. I can tell you about it, because I saw the wind blow in 1963, when Hurricane flora blew down Tobago in a rather short time period. 

The weather forecast people said the storm would hit somewhere around five in the evening. Hn! Believe me, by three o’clock sweet Tobago was a wasteland. It doesn’t take long, and you can’t believe the damage that the wind can do. 

Anyway my people, let’s give plenty, plenty thanks for our blessed situations and pray sincerely for those not as fortunate. And since it’s Saturday, I’ll share a couple of this week’s quotes from our friend Anselm, who always aspires to inspire us for a better tomorrow. 

Here’s the first one: ‘An eye for an eye only ends up making the whole world blind.’ 

And is that ever so true my brethren. If we follow that foolish policy of revenge it will only make all of us blind. And then we’d be like Jesus says: ‘they be blind leaders of the blind. And if the blind lead the blind, both shall fall into the ditch.’ (Matt.15:14) 

I guess that’s why so many of us are in the ditch right now; there are too many blind people leading the blind. I think it’s time we take off the blinkers yes friends, so that we can see where we’re going, so that we can follow the straight and narrow path that leads to Jesus. 

Furthermore, we should listen to Bruh Paul’s admonition to the church at Rome. ‘Dearly beloved, avenge not yourselves, but rather give place unto wrath: for it is written, Vengeance is mine, I will repay, saith the Lord.’ (Rom.12:19). That’s wisdom of everlasting proportions my brethren. 

And that segues us very nicely into Anselm’s next quote. ‘I don’t have time to hate people who hate me, because I’m too busy LOVING people who LOVE me.’ 

Now if we’d all do that, what a wonderful world this would be! And friends, if it’s one thing I’m very thankful for is that I never had that urge for revenge or the ability to hate, like some of us do. 

Of course I’ve disliked some people over the years, but never so strong as to call it hate. And though I’ve wished for some folks to get their comeuppance, I’ve never been led to have revenge at all costs. Those negative situations just lead to more bitterness and complications in an already bitter and complicated life. 

Oh, enough of all that negative stuff yes, let’s get into some praise and thanksgiving, by declaring these great words of the psalmist from Psalm 95 – A psalm of praise to the great God. 

Please declare with me: ‘O come let us sing unto the Lord: let us make a joyful noise to the rock of our salvation. Let us come before his presence with thanksgiving, and make a joyful noise (shout joyfully) unto him with psalms (songs of praise). 

For the Lord is a great God, and a great King above all gods. In his hand (possession) are the deep places of the earth: the strength (height) of the hills is his also. The sea is his, and he made it: and his hands formed the dry land. 

O come, let us worship and bow down: let us kneel before the Lord our maker. For he is our God; and we are the people of his pasture, and the sheep of his hand. 

Today if ye will hear his voice, Harden not your heart, as in the provocation (rebellion), and as in the day of temptation (trial or testing) in the wilderness: when your fathers tempted (tried) me, proved me, and saw my work. 

Forty years long was I grieved (disgusted) with this generation, and said, It is a people that do err in their heart (go astray), and they have not known my ways: Unto whom I sware in my wrath that they should not enter into my rest.’ (Ps.95:1-11)  

Oh friends, oh friends, please, on this thanksgiving Saturday morning, let’s not be like the foolish Israelites who saw the great miracles of God when he led them out of Egypt, yet hardened their hearts against Him, so that none of those who left Egypt, except Joshua and Caleb ever entered the Promised Land. Even the great man of God, Moses, only saw it from afar off because of his disobedience.  

Instead, let’s be wise nuh, and worship and bow down and sing songs of joy and be thankful for all the blessings that we enjoy from our rock, our salvation, our magnificent and magnanimous God and Creator, today and every day. For that is indeed wisdom to the nth power! Much LOVE!

…I’m giving thanks for all I have…I’m giving thanks for everything…I’m giving thanks…I’m just giving thanks…giving thanks…for all I’ve got…giving thanks…

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

