Today’s Scrip-Bit 11 September 2016 Joshua 1:6a.

Joshua 1:6a.   Be strong and of a good courage…

Well friends, it’s Sunday, the Lord’s Day, so let’s have church nuh! (smile) It is only mete and right that we should do so on this day. And as always, the best way to begin church is by offering up our sacrifices of praise and worship and thanksgiving, to soften our hearts, get us receptive to receive the Lord’s Holy Word. 

And we’ll do that by singing one of our all-time favourite songs of praise, ‘Amazing Grace.’ Let’s make the Lord know that we are serious here today by raising heaven’s roof with a magnificent rendition. 

All together now: ‘Amazing grace! How sweet the sound. That saved a wretch like me! I once was lost but now am found Was blind, but now I see.’Twas grace that taught my heart to fear, And grace my fears relieved; How precious did that grace appear The hour I first believed! 

Through many dangers, toils, and snares, We have already come; ‘Tis grace hath brought me safe thus far, And grace will lead me home. The Lord has promised good to me, His word my hope secures; He will my shield and portion be As long as life endures. 

Yes, when this flesh and heart shall fail, And mortal life shall cease, I shall possess, within the veil, A life of joy and peace. The earth shall soon dissolve like snow,The sun forbear to shine; But God, who called me here below, Will be forever mine’ 

Oh my brethren that was wonderful! The Lord had to sit up and take notice! 

Now let’s pray; ‘Oh merciful Father, we come to you this day with humble and contrite hearts and spirits, offering confession and repentance for our recent transgressions. We sincerely pray that you will forgive us our disobedience and restore a right heart and clean spirit in us. 

Please strengthen and encourage us, so that we can go out and successfully minister to others, letting them know of your wonderful, mercy, grace, forgiveness and salvation, so that they can come to you and be granted eternal life. This we pray in the holy name of Your Son, our Lord and Saviour Jesus Christ. Amen!’ 

And now let’s have a moment’s silence in remembrance of the 15th anniversary of the 9/11 bombing of the World Trade Centre in New York…. 

Ah Lord eh, what a horrific disaster! But unfortunately our world is currently being dominated by disasters each and every day, that’s why as Christians we need more than ever to embrace the words of our Bit: ‘Be strong and of a good courage…’ 

Yes friends, now is when we truly need the guidance and strength that the Holy Spirit of Christ dwelling in us provides. But it won’t provide anything unless we listen closely and follow its lead. It all depends on us as individuals. 

Our world is so angry and strife-filled that we can’t make it through with man’s help alone, we need heavenly assistance to make it through these difficult times. And we can only get that when we put our sincere faith and trust in Jesus Christ, the Living Lord who died on the cross of Calvary to pay for our sins. 

Oh my people, Jesus is the ONLY ONE who can help us be successful in these trying times, in these last days! 

Now let’s look at some scriptures that keep us strong and encouraged. And we’ll begin with the opening words of Bruh David from Psalm 27 – The Lord is my light and my salvation. 

Say it with me people: ‘The Lord is my light and my salvation; whom shall I fear? The Lord is the strength of my life; of whom shall I be afraid? When the wicked, even mine enemies and my foes, came upon me to eat up (devour) my flesh, they stumbled and fell. Though a host should encamp against me, my heart shall not fear: though war should rise against me, in this will I be confident.’ (Ps.27:1-3) 

Yes my fellow believers, we need to write scriptures like that indelibly in our hearts, minds, bodies and souls so that we can be confident in our walk of faith. 

Now hear the words Bruh David spoke to Cousin Sol when he entrusted him with building the Lord’s temple. ‘Only the Lord give thee wisdom and understanding, and give thee charge concerning Israel, that thou mayest keep the law of the Lord thy God. 

Then shalt thou prosper, if thou takest heed to fulfill the statutes and judgements which the Lord charged (commanded) Moses with concerning Israel: be strong and of good courage; dread not, nor be dismayed.’ (1 Chr.22: 12-13) 

Oh friends, those are the kinds of word we should be paying heed to, as well as imparting to our children, so that the word of the Lord, His strength and encouragement can be passed down to future generations, because that’s the only way Christianity will survive. 

And we’ll end today with this encouraging word from Cousin Sol. ‘The name of the Lord is a strong tower: the righteous runneth into it, and is safe (is set on high).’ (Prov.18:10) 

And for good measure, the scholars tell us.’18:10. The righteous find protection in the Lord.’ Now that’s everlasting truth my people! 

So today, please, let’s turn to our high tower, our rock, our strength, our fortress, the Lord God Jehovah, He of Abraham Isaac and Jacob so that we can find strength, encouragement, enthusiasm, LOVE, mercy and grace to successfully complete our earthly pilgrimage! For that is the wisdom of the ages. Much LOVE!

…only the Creator can truly sustain the creation…  

P.S.  Ah friends, please excuse the lateness of the Bit, but the ole fella has been sick for the last few days and did not get up early enough to write it before going to church. But as they say, better late than never. (smile) Much LOVE!

 

 

Leave a Reply

