Today’s Scrip-Bit 16 August 2016 Psalm 42:2.

Psalm 42:2.    My soul thirsteth for God, for the living God: when shall I come and appear before God?

Ah friends, it’s a rainy Tuesday morning in my area… Thank the Lord! The earth, and all in it, desperately need that heavenly blessing! They’ve been going without heavenly nourishment for much too long now. 

Let’s hope that it doesn’t go to the other extreme and cause flooding and other related damage as is happening in some parts of the southern U.S, especially Louisiana. In Baton Rouge it’s reported they got a month’s rain in something like one day! Now that will certainly cause flooding problems. Anyhow, we’re praying that it will not get that bad up here. 

Now here is our Trini Quote Of De Day from my Trini friend – ‘Trust dead because bad pay poison him.’  Generally said to/about someone; who, in the past was not trustworthy or did not pay their debt as promised.’  

And who says we West Indian’s don’t have colourful language eh? I remember often hearing someone go into a business place and ask for trust, what we now call credit, and the other person would reply: ‘Trust…Hn! He done dead long time yes! Bad pay kill him oui!’ 

And our Trini friend ends by advising us to ‘Watch your thoughts: They become words Watch your words: They become actions Watch your actions: They become habits Watch your habits: They become character.’ Indisputable truth my brethren! 

And to get us off on and running on the right foot this Tuesday morning, let’s declare our Tuesday Mantra with the enthusiasm and sincerity it so rightfully deserves. ‘I’m not what I do. I’m not what I have. I’m not what people say about me. I am the beloved of God, that’s who I am. No one can take that from me. I don’t have to worry. I don’t have to hurry. I can trust my friend Jesus and share His LOVE with the world!  Amen!’ 

And that’s gospel truth my friends! As Christians, followers of Jesus Christ, the world and its definitions don’t define us, we just live in it, but are not supposed to be a part of it. We are children of the Most High God Jehovah and a friend and follower of His wonderful Son, Jesus Christ! That’s who we are! Glory Be, my precious people! 

So please, let’s not allow the names and tags that the world places on us to influence our self-worth. Always remember that we are first and foremost God’s children and Jesus’ friend and follower, and consequently, we need to go out and share the good news of His wonderful LOVE with the rest of our society, so that they can come to Him and receive His awesome free gifts of salvation and eternal life! 

Wow friends! What a beautiful job it is to be an ambassador for Christ. It’s not an easy one, it has a lot of responsibilities, but with God’s ever-present help and grace, we can do a worthwhile job. Yeh mih people, working for Jesus might not be glamourous, but it’s always adventurous and glorious! 

Now let’s turn to our Bit. ‘My soul thirsteth for God, for the living God: when shall I come and appear before God?’ 

Oh blessed children of God and faithful friends and followers of Jesus, can that be said about us, individually as well as collectively? I certainly hope so, otherwise we won’t be worthy of those definitions. 

The Lord made us in His own image and set apart a small compartment within us that can only be filled with His Spirit. And until that space is filled with Him, then our lives won’t function properly. That’s why so many people are lost, don’t know where they’re going and feel empty inside. But when you fill that space with a true longing for God, then your life begins to function in a right and godly manner. 

As Bruh David so passionately declares in Psalm 63 – God satisfies the thirsting soul. ‘O God, thou art my God; early will I seek thee: my soul thirsteth for thee, my flesh longeth for thee in a dry and thirsty land, where no water is.’ (Ps.63:1) 

Oh friends, what a heartfelt declaration! And note too, that psalm was written while he was hiding in the wilderness from his enemies. But also note, according to the scholars: ‘Unlike many of the psalms written in these dire situations, however, this psalm is overflowing with thanksgiving rather than lament and petition. 

David declares his longing for spiritual renewal (vs.1-2), he expresses his thankful mood (vs.3-6), he gives voice to his trust in God (vs.7-8), and he announces his hope for the future (vs.9-11). Enemies are mentioned only in passing (vs.9-10).’ 

Oh my brethren, what a powerful testimony! How many of us can behave like that when trials and tribulations beset us eh? Not too many. But it’s in those trying times that we really see how mature we are in our Christian walk of faith. 

And as Mary, Jesus’ mother says in her song of praise and joy, The Magnificat – ‘He hath filled the hungry with good things; and the rich he hath sent empty away.’ (Luke 1:53) Yes friends, it’s a good thing to hunger for God! 

And the definitive statement on that comes straight from the mouth of our Lord and Saviour Jesus Christ, from the Sermon on the Mount, from the section called the Beatitudes. ‘Blessed are they which do hunger and thirst after righteousness: for they shall be filled.’ (Matt.5:6) 

Oh my people, please let’s take that to heart and go out today hungering and thirsting for the righteousness of God, for it’s wisdom of a heavenly nature. Much LOVE!

…the level of our faith is shown in the level of our longing for God…

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

