Today’s Scrip-Bit 30 January 2016 Psalm 40:4‏

Psalm 40:4.     Blessed is that man that maketh the Lord his trust, and respecteth not the proud, nor such as turn aside to lies.

Oh Friends, from my little cottage in Riseland Tobago, I’m coming to you with the LOVING-kindness of the Lord! Please note that it is not merely my LOVING-kindness but the Lord’s, which means it’s the hardest and the baddest! (smile)

And how can it not be eh, since it comes from the very source of that wonderful emotion? So please enjoy it this Saturday morning because that’s why it’s being brought to you. Moreover, it will be downright sinful if you abuse it and not use it to the fullest. Nuff said!

Ah mih people, I don’t want to continually harp on the beauty of my surroundings, because I know it can breed envy and jealousy, but I just can’t help it, especially since I’ve just returned from what I hope will be my everyday constitutional while I’m here.

I’m talking about a walk up and down the grassy edge of the property, watching the beautiful, well-tended flora and seeing the wind-driven waves of the sea crash ‘suicidally’ against the rocks on the shore. The walk is only a few hundred yards long, but that’s enough for now.

As per yesterday’s activities, I didn’t do much, and you already know I went to the market, to the bank, wrote the Bit, then had my dip in my waterhole, went to get my black pudding, which will be coming up for lunch or whatever after I’m done here.

Oh friends, I can already smell and taste the tantalizing, mouthwatering aroma, although it’s still in the fridge. (smile) Then we just sat out on the porch enjoying the night, listening to some music, chilling, as the young people would say, since the t.v. is still not working.

Imagine that nuh; the duchess going three whole days with no t.v. But give her credit, she’s not complaining, but making do with her other toys.

Oh by the way, there’s one story I want to share from my market experience yesterday. At one stage I was standing on a walkway with a couple of other men when this older chap came up and began talking to them.

All of a sudden though he exclaimed: ‘But how the market so quiet eh? Forty years ago it wasn’t like that at all nuh! Then everybody would come and buy their foodstuff and cook their own food. But now nobody doh cook again, they all buying cooked food. But me, I still cook my own food yes! I have to look after my colon oui!’

But all joking aside friends, the gentleman was quite right. Forty years ago there wasn’t as many restaurants and such that sold cooked West Indian food. However, today they abound on almost every street corner.

I myself was amazed when I first came back four years ago to see so many establishments. In all my years growing up in Tobago, I don’t remember ever once purchasing cooked food, don’t even remember there being a place to purchase it much less. But I guess that’s the new style, progress they call it.

Anyway, moving on, there’s an insight I want to share with you from the Daily Bread Devotional from yesterday’s reading, which was taken from the first Book of Kings 4:29-34, re Cousin Sol’s wisdom. Those of you who read Our Daily Bread would have already seen it, but it’s useful to read it again.

The writer is one J.R. Hudberg, and he declares: ‘There is a subtle but important difference between intelligence and wisdom. Both of them are desirable; both of them important; both require diligence and discipline to acquire and exercise.

However, wisdom is often considered the appropriate application of intelligence. Knowing something is one thing; being able to act well on what you know is another. As Solomon shows, intelligence can be demonstrated by speech, but wisdom is demonstrated by both speech and action.’

And isn’t that the gospel truth my people! That’s what Christianity is all about; good speech and even better action!

But unfortunately, we can’t do either without the help of our great God, as attested to in our Bit. ‘Blessed is that man that maketh the Lord his trust, and respecteth not the proud, nor such as turn aside to lies.’

Oh friends, what more can I say eh? Unless you truly trust in the Lord you WILL NOT see nor experience the full glory of God’s goodness! We need to be more like Job, who even in his worst days, having lost family, friends and fortune in one fell swoop, was still able to passionately declare: ‘Though he slay me, yet will I trust him: but I will maintain mine own (defend my) ways before him.’ (Job 13:15)

And the scholars offer this explanation: 13:15. Though he slay me, yet will I trust in him expresses the unquenchable faith of one who lives by faith, not by sight. Even when it appears that God Himself has turned against Job, he will still trust in God.’

Oh my fellow believers, how many of us today can really undergo such trials and tribulations and still maintain that do or die faith in Almighty God eh? Sadly, not very many of us. But that’s the kind of faith we need to have; an unquenchable kind.

Way too many of us lose faith as soon as some relatively insignificant stuff crops up in our lives because we expect God to be there at our beck and call, or don’t expect anything wrong or bad to happen in our lives.  But that’s not reality friends! Remember Jesus promised: ‘In the world ye shall have tribulation: but be of good cheer; I have overcome the world.’ (John 16:33b)

Yes my people, whether we’re rich or poor, powerful or unknown, we WILL all face misfortune at some time in our lives. The solution to misfortune though is to keep the faith, keep trusting in Almighty God though it might be very difficult. Remember that it is in hard and difficult times we need Him most.

And we’ll end with these beautiful, uplifting and encouraging words of faith, LOVE and trust from Bruh David that we all know, but do not practice enough. ‘Yea, though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil: for thou art with me; thy rod and thy staff they comfort me.’ (Ps.23:4)

Please friends, I implore us to walk in that comfort and security of our omnipotent God today! Much LOVE!

...even Jesus…the Son of God… in his earthly sojourn…made sure He stayed close and faithful to His heavenly Father…how much more do we need to do so eh…

 

 
Leave a Reply

