Today’s Scrip-Bit 20 November 2015 Psalm 42:5‏

Psalm 42:5. Why art thou cast down (bowed down), O my soul? And why art thou disquieted within me? Hope thou in God: for I shall yet praise him for the help of his countenance (presence).

So it’s Friday my people… ‘Yes! That’s why we’re loudly declaring: TGIF! Thank God it’s Friday and the weekend’s here at last. Oh glory to God for a couple days off from harsh labour! We going to party, and party…and then party some more!’ 

Oh Friends, nothing’s wrong with partying, but like most things too much of it is bad for both our bodies and souls. We need to find a right balance in our weekend activities if we want to be successful in this life. Now our Friday Chant gives us a much better perspective on how to use the weekend, so let’s chant it nuh. 

As one now: ‘Oh Lord, thanks for getting me safely through another week of work! It hasn’t been easy, but with your generous help, I made it through. 

Now, please help me to get sufficient fun, fellowship, rest and relaxation in these two short days off, so that I can be renewed and refreshed in soul, body and mind, to go back out and do it all over again next week, furthering your glorious kingdom with each step I take. I pray this in Jesus name. Amen.’ 

Now isn’t that a much better way to spend the weekend? It surely is! So hopefully some of us who had the serious party scene and much debauchery envisaged will tone it down to a more righteous state. (smile)  

And without further ado, we’ll introduce our Bit, because we have plenty scriptures to look at today. ‘Why art thou cast down (bowed down), O my soul? And why art thou disquieted within me? Hope thou in God: for I shall yet praise him for the help of his countenance (presence).’ 

That’s gospel truth Friends! And I believe a little personal testimony is appropriate here. Yesterday evening during my time of personal devotions, my spirit was somewhat off kilter, it just was not right and I couldn’t focus on my devotions as I wanted to. 

Now nothing was really wrong, there was no cause for the apparent malaise in my soul that I could put my finger on. So I asked the Lord for some direction and understanding. And would you believe that when I came to Gramps Schuller’s (Dr. Robert H. Schuller) Hour of Power Devotional, the daily devotion was titled ‘Choose to Be Hopeful.’ 

And we certainly can choose to be hopeful my people. It’s a choice that’s open to us all. So though today might be somewhat rough, tomorrow is on its way, it’s inevitable and does hold the promise of better times. 

And as I read Gramps Schuller’s words, I began to chuckle: ‘The only thing between today and tomorrow is tonight. And that’s when the stars come out! So never give up on hope! Don’t drop the curtain on tomorrow. Great people are ordinary people who just will not give up hope. And what is hope? It is Holding On, Praying Expectantly.’ 

That’s oh so true my fellow believers! And thereafter my spirit was enthused! Glory to God! After my devotions I even got up and did some of the things I wanted to do, but previously had no energy or enthusiasm to do them. 

So you see our heavenly Father responds to our pleas in so many unexpected ways that we should never really lose hope or faith or give up on Him, regardless of how long His answer might be taking to come. 

That reminds me of Jeremiah when he lamented to God. ‘He hath filled me with bitterness, he hath made me drunken with wormwood. He hath also broken my teeth with gravel stones, he hath covered me with (bent me down in) ashes. 

And thou hast removed my soul far off from peace: I forgat prosperity. And I said, My strength and my hope is perished from the Lord: Remembering mine affliction and my misery, the wormwood and the gall (bitterness). 

My soul hath them still in remembrance, and is humbled (bowed down) in me. This I recall to my mind, therefore have I hope. It is of the Lord’s mercies that we are not consumed, because his compassions fail not. They are new every morning: great is thy faithfulness.’ (Lam.3:15-23) 

Oh my brethren, you see that though Jeremiah underwent all sorts of hardship, even in his remembrance of them, he knew, or was hopeful enough to realize that it was only the Lord’s LOVING-kindness and compassion that keeps us from destruction. His faithfulness is unbreakable and His mercies are new every morning, thus giving us a brand new start every day. 

So if Jeremiah could figure that our after all his misfortune, why can’t we eh, especially when few of us have undergone his woes and troubles? We have to hold on to hope Friends, because that’s the only thing that will see us through. 

What did Bruh Paul say to the church at Rome? ‘For we are saved by hope: but hope that is seen is not hope: for what a man seeth, why doth he yet hope for? But if we hope for that we see not, then do we with patience (perseverance) (eagerly) wait for it.’ (Rom.8:24-25) Gospel truth that my brethren! 

So it’s imperative that we all get out there today into the topsy turvy world filled with hope, bubbling with it until it overflows, (smile) remembering God’s faithful promises never to leave or forsake us, to bring us safely through each and every trial so that we can enjoy salvation and eternal life with Him at some future date. Now that is the HOPE of every believer! Much LOVE!

…let’s all hold on in hope…praying expectantly and eagerly…

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

