Today’s Scrip-Bit 28 October 2015 Ephesians 6:13

Ephesians 6:13.   Wherefore take unto you (take up) the whole armour of God, that ye may be able to withstand in the evil day, and having done all, to stand.

Well my brethren, it’s Wednesday, and unfortunately my ole right knee is still acting up. Chuh! But it did not stop me from going down to the Hershey Centre last night and enjoying the proceedings…and actively partying too, I would have you know, ably supported by my African Rosewood cane, though not as energetically as I would have liked. 

The Festival of Praise Concert was put on by a group of American Gospel Artistes. They included recognized gospel singers like Fred Hammond, who was the main man in putting the show together; Hezekiah Walker, Kim Burrell, and Donnie McClurkin. 

Oh Friends the joint was hopping from the time the M.C. a Christian comedian, who was pretty good himself, stopped and the first notes of the music rang out. Hn! You couldn’t sit if you wanted to because everybody was standing. 

And what amazed and pleased me a whole lot is that there were no openers and no headline artists. I’ve never seen this done before, but they all came out onto the stage from the very beginning and stayed there till the end, taking turns singing and backing up each other. Oh glory to God, they left their egos at home! 

I didn’t know most of the songs because I don’t follow American Gospel music that much, but believe you me, the crowd of between three and four thousand knew them, including a chubby white boy who was right up at the stage singing and dancing all night long, holding up a banner that read ‘Polaski.’ 

And then in the ending round of celebrations he and his group of white females found themselves on the stage singing and dancing and hugging the performers. It was indeed a good night my people. 

Oh, there was also an altar call, and some one hundred and thirty one (131)  persons came down to the front and received Jesus! Oh glory to God!  Praise His Holy Name! 

The lighting was good and so was the music, just a little too loud though for my liking, and that’s because I was down on the floor, about ten rows from the stage because my young daughter bought the tickets and she figured I’d like to be close to the stage. 

But at those kinds of events I like to be up in the back seats, where the music isn’t as loud. But thank the Lord, this morning I don’t have tinnitus (ringing in the ears); my ears seem perfectly all right! 

Anyway Friends, it was a good night. I just hope that those who were saved woke up this morning feeling different and that they will continue their new relationship with Jesus. Let’s pray that they will indeed do so. 

Now there was so much praise and thanks and glorification given to God there last night, that it makes me wonder where all of that is during our normal everyday lives eh? If we would only expend a half of that godly energy in our normal lives, this world would be truly a wonderful place. 

But sadly, outside of the church and these kinds of gatherings we seem to lose our Christian flavour; our salt is dead and our light diminished. In real life, we just don’t seem to walk our talk. 

But though that’s been the bane of Christianity for a long time now, it’s time we change it, especially in these difficult and crucial times that we’re facing. Only truly walked Christianity will make a significant difference in this wicked and ungodly world. 

Anyway, to day is Wednesday, that means it’s wailing time! So please let’s wail together: ‘Wednesday, Wednesday, Wednesday: I’m so glad to be alive on this Wednesday! Wednesday, Wednesday, Wednesday: Thank God the breath of life is still flowing through me on this Wednesday! I am halfway home. 

My hands are fixed securely on the plough, and I’m not turning back. I’m not looking back at the past, not focusing on what has gone before. But my eyes are fixed straight ahead; straight ahead to a glorious future with Jesus. Glory Hallelujah!’ 

And am I ever glad to be alive Friends, despite my numerous aches and pains. (smile) And yuh better believe I am looking forward to a glorious future with Jesus! And if you are not, I will strongly advise you to get your act together and get to know Him, for He is the BEST thing, the BEST gift ever given to man! 

Praise our heavenly Father for sacrificing His only Son so that we could be cleansed of our abominable sins and be reconciled to Him! What an awesome show of LOVE! 

And with all my enthusiasm and writing about the gospel concert last night, (smile) I guess we only have time and space now for our Bit. ‘Wherefore take unto you (take up) the whole armour of God, that ye may be able to withstand in the evil day, and having done all, to stand.’ 

Yes my fellow believers, that’s what every believer needs to do: put on God’s armour so that we can withstand the evil attacks of the enemy, because that’s the only way we can withstand them. 

And what I truly like about that verse is the last part; ‘…and having done all, to stand.’ That means my people, once we’ve done all that we can about the situation, we just need to stand; stand up strong and steadfast, unmovable in our beliefs and actions, and let God do His part, because the battle is not ours but His. We can’t defeat the enemy without His awesome help. 

So today, please, I implore us to put on the armour of God, we all know what that is (Eph.6:14-18), then let us just stand strong in the might of our Lord and Saviour Jesus Christ! That is indeed heavenly wisdom, and if we do it, we will eventually reap a substantial harvest, be the salt and light of the earth. Glory Hallelujah! Much, much LOVE, my people!

…oh living for Jesus…is such a wonderful and interesting way to live this earthly life…

 

Leave a Reply

