Today’s Scrip-Bit 20 October 2015 Psalm 22:19

Psalm 22:19.   But be not thou far from me O Lord: O my strength, haste thee to help me. 

Oh Friends, it’s a mea culpa kind of morning! I went to bed real late this morning, and got up much later than I expected or wanted to. I guess the good Lord in His everlasting wisdom decided I just needed the rest, or He simply left me to my own devices, and we see how that panned out. (smile) 

Anyway today is an historic day in the annals of Canadian history! Yes mih people, the winds of change have blown across this country in a most remarkable way. We now have a new Prime Minister, Justin Trudeau and a new governing party, the Liberals, after yesterday’s Federal Elections. 

The Conservative Government under Stephen Harper, which has mismanaged the country for almost a decade, got their most deserving walking papers. Glory to God! 

Let’s hope now that the micro-management, the secrecy, the draconian laws which have brought us to the reality of a police state, the widespread corruption and the nonchalance towards the ordinary working man, in favour of the rich and famous will now stop, or at least be substantially reduced. 

And would you believe that yesterday a wicked windstorm blew across my area all day, possibly heralding the significant change in government. Let’s hope too that the big knock against Trudeau, his youth, merely thirty something, doesn’t affect his governing. At least he doesn’t seem to be as arrogant as His father, Pierre Elliot Trudeau, who ran the country from 1968-1979, and 1980-84. 

Notwithstanding that though, Pierre Elliot was possibly the most popular Prime Minster in our history. Let’s hope though that Justin does have the wisdom, the belly and backbone that his father had, and a true penchant for improving the entire country, not just the rich and famous. 

Anyway, enough politics for today. I’m not a political animal, but I do take some interest in the goings ons around me. (smile) And since today is Tuesday, a wet and cloudy day in my area, we need to declare our Tuesday mantra. Or as the person who wrote it, Bobby Schuller, Gramps Schuller’s grandson, likes to call it, the Creed of the Beloved. 

So all together now: ‘I’m not what I do. I’m not what I have. I’m not what people say about me. I am the beloved of God, that’s who I am. No one can take that from me. I don’t have to worry. I don’t have to hurry. I can trust my friend Jesus and share His LOVE with the world.  Amen!’ 

And that’s exactly how we have to view this life my brethren! The most important aspect of our lives is that we are the children of the Most High God Jehovah! That’s what defines us, nothing else! 

And I just could not pass up this poem from our One Year Book of Bible Promises with writings by Ruth Harms Caulkin, as it is very reflective of our behaviour. It’s titled: ‘Could You Hurry a Little.’ 

And it says: ‘Lord, I know there are countless times When I must wait patiently for You. Waiting develops endurance. It strengthens my faith And deepens my dependence on You. I know You are a Sovereign God – Not an errand boy Responding to the snap of my finger. I know Your timing is neatly wrapped In Your incomparable wisdom. 

But, Lord You have appointed prayer To obtain answers! Even David the Psalmist cried With confident boldness: “It is time, O Lord, for you to act.” God, on this silent sunless morning When I am hedged in on every side I too cry boldly. You are my Father, and I am Your child. So, Lord, could You hurry a little?’ 

Oh my fellow believers, I’m sure that many of us have prayed that kind of prayer many a time! And nothing’s really wrong with it, except that too many of us tend to treat the Lord our Mighty God as an errand boy. 

Yes Friends, we often don’t remember Him until there is a problem in our life, then we cry out to Him and expect Him to run and fix it. But that’s a totally false image and manner of dealing with Almighty God. 

Please remember that He is the Master and we are His humble servants. We are here to do His bidding, not the other way around. And though we are entitled to cry out to Him for help, we also are required to wait patiently on His timing, which is NEVER wrong or late. 

And the promise on which that poem was based, is also our Bit for today. ‘But be not thou far from me O Lord: O my strength, haste thee to help me.’ 

Yes Friends, that was Bruh David crying out for the Lord’s help in one of his many times of trouble. And as I said before, we are also entitled to cry out to our heavenly Father for help. We just need to live obediently to His will during the remainder of the time, if we truly expect Him to help us when adversity rears its ugly head. 

We simply cannot live the way we want to, enmeshed in the affairs of this wicked and godless world, then when times get tough, run to Him and expect immediate succour. 

And we’ll end today with the remainder of Bruh David’s cry for help. ‘Deliver my soul from the sword; my darling (precious life) from the power of the dog. Save me from the lion’s mouth: for thou hast heard me from the horns of the unicorns (and from the horns of the wild oxen! You have answered me). 

I will declare thy name unto my brethren: in the midst of the congregation will I praise thee. Ye that fear the Lord, praise him: all ye the seed (descendants) of Jacob, glorify him; and fear him (hold him in awesome reverence), all ye the seed of Israel. For he hath not despised nor abhorred the affliction of the afflicted; neither hath he hid his face from him; but when he cried unto him, he heard.’ (Ps.22:20-24) 

Yes my people, that’s the awesome promise of our ever-LOVING God: when we consistently live for and praise Him in our daily lives, then we are entitled to cry out to Him for help in times of trouble. And as Bruh David so rightly says, He never turns away from the afflicted, but hears him. Now that’s a promise we can stand steadfast on! Much LOVE!

…for a true believer…cries of anguish…should always be interspersed with songs of praise…

Leave a Reply

