Today’s Scrip-Bit 27 September 2015 Psalm 119:81‏

Psalm 119:81.   My soul fainteth for thy salvation: but I hope in thy word.

Grace and peace be unto you this Sunday morning my fellow believers from the Lord God and our Saviour Jesus Christ! 

It’s our big day, where we gather to fellowship with each other, sing and praise and worship our great and wonderful God, and in return receive His encouragement and strength to face another week down here on this crazy and very disturbed earth. 

And all God’s people declared a loud and sincere, ‘Praise the Lord, for He is indeed good to those who believe in Him and walk in His paths of righteousness! Glory Hallelujah!’ 

Yes Friends, all of that is indisputably true, so please, let’s get ourselves together and go out to church and join in grateful praise and worship this wonderful Sunday morning. We are alive and well blessed, so let’s give some thanks in return. 

Now here is something wise and wonderful, strengthening and uplifting from Gramps Schuler’s (Robert H. Schuller) Hour of Power Devotional. I believe I’ve shared it before, but it’s ever so appropriate for sharing again in these very turbulent and disruptive times. It’s titled ‘A Prayer for Confidence,’ and do we ever need that these days. 

So please pray with me. ‘It is flowing into me now, for my conscience is clear. I have made the right decision. I am not afraid of problems. I will face challenges calmly and serenely for God is behind me. He will help me. If I must go through difficult times, he will rescue me. 

I feel his spirit of confidence surging in my heart now. With him I cannot possibly fail. “If God is for me who can be against me?” I have a strong feeling that everything is going to work out just beautifully. Thank you, God. Amen.’ 

Oh mih breddren, it’s that kind of confidence we need to exude today! And if you sincerely prayed that prayer with me, then I’m sure you can feel that surge of confidence just pulsing through your entire body, soul and mind right now. Oh glory to God for His answers to our prayers! 

And I sincerely hope that all of what we’ve said so far will light a fire under us, will increase our desire and longing for God, as our Bit, the same as yesterday, declares. ‘My soul fainteth for thy salvation: but I hope in thy word.’ 

Yes Friends, though life might be rough, and we long to be saved from our trials and tribulations, we must not lose hope and trust and faith in the holy and indisputable Word of Jehovah God! For it is indeed a guide to successful earthly living. 

As the psalmist says further on in Psalm 119. ‘Thy word is a lamp unto my feet, and a light unto my path. I have sworn, and I will perform (confirm) it, that I will keep thy righteous judgements.’ (Ps.119:105-106) 

Oh my people, please allow the Word of our God to be our lamp and guide down here on this polluted and ungodly earth! Let’s swear to keep all His statutes and commandments, so that it will be right with us as we continue on our pilgrim’s journey.  

Now let’s hear a couple of scripture passages that corroborate the truth of our Bit. Let’s begin with beautiful words of the sons of Korah, from Psalm 84 – Blessed are they that dwell in thy house. ‘How amiable are thy tabernacles (how lovely are thy dwellings), O Lord of hosts! My soul longeth, yea, even fainteth for the courts of the Lord: my heart and my flesh crieth out for the living God. 

Yes, the sparrow hath found a house, and the swallow a nest for herself, where she may lay her young, even thine altars, O Lord of hosts, my King, and my God. Blessed are they that dwell in thy house: they will be still praising thee.  Selah.’ (Ps.84:1-4) 

Oh Friends, doesn’t that just touch the very cockles of one’s heart? It surely does! When someone longs so much for God, we can only be touched and hopefully influenced by it. 

Now listen to the words of Asaph from Psalm 73 – The mystery of prosperous wickedness. ‘Whom have I in heaven but thee? And there is none upon earth that I desire beside thee. My flesh and my heart faileth: but God is the strength (the rock) of my heart, and my portion for ever. 

For, lo, they that are far from thee shall perish: thou hast destroyed all them that go a whoring from thee (who are unfaithful to thee). But it is good for me to draw near to God: I have put my trust in the Lord God, that I may declare all thy works.’ (Ps. 73:25-28) 

Yes my people, that’s what you call inordinate wisdom. (smile) And we’ll end with these trusting and faithful words of Bruh David from Psalm 63 – God satisfies the thirsting soul. 

‘O God, thou art my God; early will I seek thee: my soul thirsteth for thee, my flesh longeth for thee in a dry and thirsty land, where no water is; To see thy power and thy glory, so as I have seen thee (looked for thee) in the sanctuary. Because thy LOVING-kindness is better than life, my lips shall praise thee.’ (Ps.63: 1-3) 

Oh Friends, if Bruh David could pen those faithful and trusting words when he was lost and foraging in the wilderness of Judah, we who are not suffering such tribulation can certainly get up this Sunday morning and go out to the Lord’s sanctuary and look for Him, and praise His Holy Name for all the LOVING-kindness He’s bestowed on us, unworthy though we be. Much LOVE!

…when one sincerely longs for Christ…He comes into one’s soul and strengthens it…  

P.S. You all can’t complain about the length of today’s Bit, because it’s very short…but nonetheless sweet. (smile) Much LOVE!

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

