Today’s Scrip-Bit 23 September 2015 Psalm 48:14

Psalm 48:14.   For this God is our God for ever and ever; he will be our guide even unto death.

Oh Friends, welcome to another glorious day on God’s great earth! Wow! These days are so filled with sunshine and cool breezes that it’s not funny. 

But apparently the ole fella’s head is filled with stupidity, because I did the same thing I did two nights ago; I went to bed even earlier than before with the same unhappy results. I awoke at an hour that didn’t thrill me, so I turned and tossed until I finally fell asleep again, then got up late with the usual back pains. Chuh! 

How hardheaded can one body be eh? Anyway, I sincerely hope that I’ve learned my lesson now. And the strange part is that the first time I awaken, I usually feel fresh and alive, but I just find that it’s too early to get up, since I’ve only had a few hours sleep. Then when I do get up, I feel lousy. 

So the solution seems to be either to go to bed late, or simply get up when the good Lord awakens me the first time. Obstinacy is a hell of a thing yes! (smile) 

In any case it’s still a wonderful day, so let’s all declare: ‘This is the day the Lord has made, we WILL rejoice and be glad in it, come what may!’ 

And today is Wednesday, so that means it’s wailing time. So let’s wail nuh mih breddren, with sincerity and godly feeling. ‘Wednesday, Wednesday, Wednesday: I’m so glad to be alive on this Wednesday! Wednesday, Wednesday, Wednesday: Thank God the breath of life is still flowing through me on this Wednesday! I am halfway home. 

My hands are fixed securely on the plough, and I’m not turning back. I’m not looking back at the past, not focusing on what has gone before. But my eyes are fixed straight ahead; straight ahead to a glorious future with Jesus. Glory Hallelujah!’ 

Yes Friends, if we stay focused on Jesus our future will indeed be glorious! Down here on earth, as well as in heaven above at the end of our mortal lives. That is what He’s promised and He is ever-faithful to fulfill His promises. He hasn’t reneged on not even one as yet, and He never will! 

So I don’t know or understand why so many people today are so reluctant to embrace Jesus and His most worthwhile cause. Why they are so willing to revile Him and cast Him out of our society when He gave up His holy and sinless life to save a bunch of abominable  sinners? 

But my brethren please remember that Almighty God created the world and still controls it, regardless of what you might think or see, and there are consequences to disobedience and evil working against His heavenly realm.

That brings us to our sterling Bit from Psalm 48; a song from the sons of Korah, titled, ‘God is our God.’ And the psalmist ends it with these beautiful and indisputably true words.‘For this God is our God for ever and ever; he will be our guide even unto death.’ 

Yes my people, that’s the gospel truth! As we said above, the Lord made us and controls us. He has a plan for every life that He’s made, and if we choose not to follow it, that’s our decision. But be sure that we will pay a substantial price for that unwise decision come the judgement day. 

And it’s not like the Lord hasn’t promised elsewhere to be our guide and defender. In our Bit from yesterday He plainly stated it thus: ‘And even unto your old age I am he; and even to hoar hairs (gray hairs) will I carry you: I have made, and I will bear; even I will carry, and will deliver you.’ (Is.46:4) 

That’s an awesome promise Friends! So why do we hesitate to accept it eh and consequently draw closer to Jehovah God? I truly don’t know. I guess the flash and dash of the things of the world hold us in such thrall that it’s difficult to let go and turn to God. 

But please remember Friends, the things of the world are like beautiful vessels on the outside, merely an inviting façade, but inside they are either empty or filled with evil and darkness, and none of them will last longer than this lifetime. 

Remember too that Beelzebub is the master of deceit, so please don’t fall for His wiles and lies. He can do nothing for us besides get us thrown into the lake of fire, come the end times. So if that is what you want, then go right ahead and bow down, kow-tow to Him and His evil rapscallions. Just be warned that it will all come back to hurt you in the end. 

Meanwhile listen to this wonderful promise from Jehovah God. ‘And the Lord shall guide thee continually, and satisfy thy soul in drought (dry places), and make fat (strengthen) thy bones: and thou shalt be like a watered garden, and like a spring of water, whose waters fail not.’ (Is.58:11) 

Oh Friends, the Lord did exactly that for His people Israel when they were obedient to His commands, and He will do the same for us if we heed His will. And furthermore, after Jesus sacrificed His life to pay for our sins, making us worthy to come to God in His name, the Lord was still so gracious and merciful to send His Spirit to live in us to lead and guide us. 

Listen to Jesus tell it like it is. ‘But the Comforter (Helper), which is the Holy Ghost, whom the Father will send in my name, he shall teach you all things, and bring all things to your remembrance, whatsoever I have said unto you.’ (John 14:26) And we all know the big splash the Holy Spirit made when it finally fell on the apostles on the Day of Pentecost. (Acts 2) 

And my people that same Spirit dwells within each and every believer today, to lead and guide and comfort us down here on this earthly pilgrimage. So how can we in all truth deny that God is our guide, our leader and protector eh? That’s utter nonsense! 

And we’ll end with the immortal words of comfort that Jesus spoke to His disciples after promising that the Holy Ghost would come to them and ultimately to us. ‘Peace I leave with you, my peace I give unto you: not as the world giveth, give I unto you. Let not your heart be troubled, neither let it be afraid.’ (John 15:27) 

Now that my brethren, is the ultimate in wisdom and trust! Please embrace it. Much LOVE!

…you can lead a horse to water…but you can’t make it drink…likewise you can lead a human to Jesus…but you can’t make him believe…

 

 

Leave a Reply

