Today’s Scrip-Bit 12 May 2015 Psalm 46:1‏

Psalm 46:1. God is our refuge and strength, a very present help (an abundantly available help) in time of trouble.

Oh Friends, oh Friends, it’s one of those days when the ole fella is a tad under the weather. Nothing to really talk about, but just not humming on all cylinders yet. (smile)

But you know what, last night, or this morning, if you prefer, for the first time this year, I sat out on my porch around 1.30 and communed with nature and my Maker.

Oh Friends, it was so serene and peaceful that I didn’t want to come inside and go to bed. (smile)  Just feeling the cool breeze wash over me in the quiet of the night hours, after the rain had washed everything clean, and watching the trees dance a slow waltz to the music of the wind… Ah, it brought such peace and calm to my soul!

You know, I believe one of our big problems in this current society is a lack of admiration and communication with nature in its natural state. Just sitting and admiring God’s handiwork seems to be a lost art these days.

We’re too busy to just sit and enjoy and admire the things God made for us to just sit and admire and get His peace and serenity in our souls. What a waste that is my people!

But here is a poem from Gramps Schuller’s (Dr. Robert H Schuller) Hour of Power devotional, which I shared last year, and feel the need to share again this year, that addresses that problem; our basic busyness and impatience. It’s titled: ‘Let Go and Let God.’

And it says: ‘As children bring their toys with tears for us to mend, I brought my broken dreams to God, because He was my Friend. But then, instead of leaving Him in peace to work alone, I hung around and tried to help with ways that were my own.

At last I snatched them back and cried, “How can You be so slow?” “My child,” He said, “what could I do? You never did let go.”

And that, my people, is exactly how we operate with God. We come to Him in prayer, but then don’t give Him the chance to do it in His own time and pace, because we are programmed by this ever-busy, impatient society, to want things now for now.

But that’s not how our God works, my brethren. And until we realize that, and give Him the time and space to work on our problems, we’ll never be happy or satisfied with Him.

Please remember though, the wise and sage words of our Bit. ‘God is our refuge and strength, a very present help (an abundantly available help) in time of trouble.’

Yes Friends, Almighty God, the Creator of the universe and all therein is our source of refuge and strength in times of need! It seems only logical to seek the help and advice of the One who created us, and all else that there is!

But we, through foolish pride and sinful arrogance simply refuse to bow to God’s supremacy, instead choosing the evil and wicked ways of the world to base our lives upon. Friends, the Bible calls that a fool’s wisdom.

Please remember Moses’ exhortation to obedience to the Israelites during their journey to the Promised Land: ‘Behold, I have taught you statutes and judgements, even as the Lord my God commanded me, that ye should do so in the land whither ye go to possess it.

Keep therefore and do them; for this is your wisdom and your understanding in the sight of the nations, which shall hear all these statutes, and say, Surely this great nation is a wise and understanding people.

For what nation is there so great, who hath (a) God so nigh (near) unto them, as the Lord our God is in all things that we call upon him for? And what nation is there so great, that hath statutes and judgements so righteous as all this law, which I have set before you this day?’ (Deut.4:5-8)

Yes my people, great nations follow the Lord God of Abraham, Isaac and Jacob! That is how they become great. But once they get too big for their britches, and start moving away from God, then a time of hardship and decline is ushered in, because of their folly.

You see it in the history of the Israelites and many other powerful nations of the world, and of course in our current society, where we became great because our society was built on the foundation of the rock of Christ.

But as all the others, once we got powerful, we foolishly thought that it was our strength that got us there, and now we’re trying move God out, and our problems are quickly multiplying, while our prosperity is declining with each new day.

Oh Friends, oh Friends, unless we turn back to sincerely worshipping and serving the Most High God Jehovah, our society will end up in ruins. There are no ifs, ands and buts about that! So please, let’s wake up and be wise nuh.

Let’s accept the truth of Bruh David’s words from Psalm 62. ‘In God is my salvation and my glory: the rock of my strength, and my refuge, is in God. Trust in him at all times; ye people, pour out your heart before him: God is a refuge for us.   Selah.’ (Ps.62:7-8)

Oh my people, that is such obvious truth, that I can’t understand how we don’t see it, especially with all the supporting evidence to prove it. But I guess that stems from our natural prideful and sinful nature, in conjunction with all the embellishments and eye-candy that’s constantly been bombarded on us by the evil society in which we live.

However Friends, as true believers in, and sincere followers of Jesus, we’re not supposed to embrace the things of the world, but the things of God.

And we’ll end with this most appropriate warning from Bruh Paul to the church at Rome. ‘And be not conformed to this world: but be ye transformed by the renewing of your mind, that ye may prove what is that good, and acceptable, and perfect, will of God.’ (Rom.12:2)

Words of absolute wisdom my brethren! Please, I implore us to take them to heart, and put them into serious action, if we desire our society to be prosperous and powerful. Much LOVE!

…Christians should be IN the world…but not OF it…

 

 

Leave a Reply

