Today’s Scrip-Bit 14 February 2015 1 Corinthians 13:1

1 Corinthians 13:1.  Though I speak with the tongues of men and of angels, and have not charity (LOVE), I am become as sounding brass, or a tinkling (clanging) cymbal.

 HAPPY  VALENTINE’S  DAY!

Well Friends, it’s Carnival Saturday and the excitement is ramping up with the finals in most of the competitions scheduled for some time this weekend; three kings of song, kings and queens of mas bands and Panorama Steelband finals. But if the ole fella takes in any, it will be most likely over the boob tube. I don’t need the rush and push and expensive, long sitting down for those shows.

Oh, I forgot to wish all my Scrip-Bit readers a Happy Valentine’s Day! You can imagine the confusion down here with Valentine’s Day and Carnival weekend falling the same time.

Hn, Hn! Lots of ads for Valentine’s Day celebrations, but I believe the duchess and I won’t be doing much, possibly going up in the city later on to check out the happenings, get some roses from my sister-in-law’s flower shop, for her, but no real plans. Now children please don’t go telling her that and spoil the surprise.

Besides, the duchess is cooking a wicked pigeon peas soup, with Much LOVE, and I don’t think anything in any restaurant is going to taste as good as that. (smile) And per adventures, I didn’t have any yesterday, just went up by an old school friend, visited for a couple hours, then came home watched some cricket and went to bed.

But Chuh! It was possibly the worse night I‘ve spent since I’ve been here. I kept waking up every couple hours to go to the bathroom, then couldn’t get back to sleep because both my shoulders were aching and I couldn’t find a comfortable position. Finally on the after six waking up, I couldn’t take it anymore, so I just got up and stayed up.

Then around 8.30 I left to go and get some breadfruit from a friend, for the duchess to put in the soup. But lo and behold, I took a back road and got lost along the way. Then when I found my way again, I decided to go a little further to look for some fish, but there was no fish.

Then I went up the road to a bakery to get some bread, but there was no bread ready. So I bought some bake and salftfish for breakfast. I didn’t get to my friend’s place till almost nine thirty, then he kept me in some old talk, so I didn’t get home until ten. By then I was tired from all the running around, so I just had breakfast then rested. That’s my story, and I’m sticking to it! (smile)

Now re our Bit, I decided to take a break from giving and move to LOVE for today, because today is supposed to be the biggest day of LOVE all over the world, even though it’s very commercialized and tends more to the romantic kind.

But Friends, LOVE is LOVE in whatever form you find it, and if commerce causes us to be more LOVING to each other, then I certainly won’t complain, because LOVE is of God, and it’s the quality, the emotion we need most desperately in today’s evil and ungodly world.

And having read this rather appropriate passage in the One Year Book of Bible Promises with writings by Ruth Harms Calkin this morning, I couldn’t pass it up. Listen to these words titled ‘Morning Tribute.’

‘In all the years of my childhood, I doubt that we ever lived in a house where the sweet fragrance of roses didn’t permeate the air. I’ve never forgotten the summer ritual that made every breakfast a special event. Every morning my father would come in from the backyard with a freshly plucked rosebud – his token of LOVE for my mother.

Usually I’d be setting the table when Dad made the presentation…. “Here it is, sweetheart – your morning tribute.”  One morning while sunbeams played leapfrog on our kitchen wall my mother stopped stirring oatmeal. She dropped her wooden spoon and threw her arms around my father. I’ll never forget her words. “There are ten thousand ways of LOVING and you know them all!”

LOVE knows no limit to endurance; no end to its trust, no fading of its hope; it can outlast anything. It is in fact, the one thing that still stands when all else has fallen.’

Wow mih people! What beautiful words and sentiments of LOVE on this Valentine’s Day! And they are all true! How nice it would be if we could resort to that kind of LOVE every day of the year eh, not just on Valentine’s Day. It would just warm the cockles of God’s heart and make our world such a much better place to live.

Remember these memorable words of John from his first epistle? ‘Beloved, let us LOVE one another: for LOVE is of God; and every one that LOVETH is born of God, and knoweth God. He that LOVETH not knoweth not God; for God is LOVE!’ (1 John 4:7-8)

That’s why Bruh Paul was quite correct when he wrote our Bit to the Corinthians. ‘Though I speak with the tongues of men and of angels, and have not charity (LOVE), I am become as sounding brass, or a tinkling (clanging) cymbal.’

Yes Friends, we could be the greatest thing since sliced bread, with all the attributes, powers and honours that the world can bestow, if we don’t have charity, if we don’t have LOVE, then we’re NOTHING! And if you don’t believe me, then go and read the rest of 1 Cor.13, The way of LOVE, and let Bruh Paul convince you.

I was just thinking that that LOVE chapter should be mandatory reading for all of us, at least on Valentine’s Day. (smile) It would certainly put us in remembrance of what true LOVE is all about!

And mih people, as I sit here writing this, the peas soup is smelling mouthwatering good from the kitchen! Mama Mia! Can’t wait to get into it!

And I have one more interesting and appropriate quote on LOVE for us, from Jacques Maritain ((1882-1973), a prominent French philosopher and thinker. Jacques reminds us today that ‘We don’t LOVE qualities, we LOVE persons…’

And that’s how it ought to be my people. We shouldn’t LOVE others because of their qualities, but because they are people, like us, fallible and fickle, but God’s wonderful creation!

Now hear some more appropriate words from my One More Day Devotional, Daily Meditations for People with Chronic Illness. It tells us: ‘We don’t look for perfection in our LOVED ones, and we’re freed of the notion that we must earn another’s LOVE. LOVE balances our lives; it helps us keep sight of our values and priorities.’

Words of indisputable truth my people. And we’ll end with these immortal words from the LOVE Chapter. ‘And now abideth faith, hope, charity (LOVE), these three; but the greatest of these is charity (LOVE).’ (1 Cor.13:13)

Words to live by my people. So please have a Happy Valentine’s Day. And remember, the word for today is LOVE! So please spread it far and wide. That’s what our LOVING God expects of us. Much LOVE!

…I will remember today…that I LOVE people for themselves…not for their potential…The LOVE I receive is given just as freely…’

 

 

 

     

Leave a Reply

