Today’s Scrip-Bit 3 February 2015 Mark 6:34

Mark 6:34.    And Jesus, when he came out, saw much people (a great multitude), and was moved with compassion toward them, because they were as sheep not having a shepherd: and he began to teach them many things. 

Oh Friends, what can I say eh, but that it’s another beautiful Tuesday morning in Paradise!

As I sit on the verandah of my little cottage at Lowlands writing these words to you, the sun’s a shining, the birds are a singing praises, the cool breezes are a blowing, ruffling the trees and leaves, which are a dancing to God’s perfect melody, and one member of His greatest creation is here enjoying it all, adding his thanks and praise to the rest of nature! (smile)

Wow Friends, it couldn’t get much better than this…except for my health! I’m still not in the greatest shape; my chest is still tight and my back’s aching. I’m starting to think it’s the bed, although on the surface it doesn’t feel too soft or too hard. Unless I am sleeping too much, although I don’t think so.

But I much prefer my back to ache me down here in the warm weather than in the freezing cold and plentiful snow that seems to have enveloped the north country since I left. I’ve been seeing pictures of Toronto and other areas in the U.S and they certainly don’t look too welcoming. I’m certainly sorry for those of you who have to deal with it, and I’m glad that I don’t have to in my current condition.

All I can do is thank the Lord that He got me out before it began, and I hope and pray that He keeps you all safe and sound and warm through it all.

Ah Chuh! I just had a small coughing bout! Thought it was all over, but apparently not. But not to worry, we’ll fight it through, with the Lord’s help obviously. Each day I am feeling a little better. I was able to handle the heat and sunshine much better yesterday. And we finally got our phone situation fixed – Glory be!

In the  afternoon we went down to the beach. The duchess wanted to go to Pigeon Point, and although I’ve never like there, in my humanity and Christianity, I acquiesced to her desires. (smile) Now I thought she wanted to go right inside the compound where you have to pay to get in.

But lo and behold, as we were driving by a decent looking beach with people bathing and some sweet soca music pouring out of a car, she decided to stop there. Hn! And again being the beautiful person that I am, I stopped.

The beach itself was sandy and the water, though a little choppy with the tide coming in, was blue and inviting. But to my great surprise when I entered the water, before it even got up to my waist, I felt a very rocky and stony bottom.

Steups! It was actually worse than my water hole back home, but I grinned and bore it. It was salt water and sunshine, exactly what the doctor had ordered for my ailing and aching body. And in any case I couldn’t do much swimming because my right arm and shoulder are still aching.

On the way home from the beach we bought some food and some goodies; coconut tart, currant’s roll, rock cake etc. (smile) Then we came home and had a quiet evening, in part listening to the Prime Minister, Kamla Persad, address the nation on t.v. re some scandal amongst her cabinet, which she shuffled around and which is going to cause even more scandal. Only in T&T, you say!

So you see the ole fella’s just leading a quiet simple existence, trying to get healthy. I still don’t feel like eating, and that tells me I’m not up to scratch. But with the Lord’s help, and in His time, there’s no doubt that we will definitely overcome!

And Friends, this morning if you’re doubting your faith and belief in Jesus Christ, just listen to these wonderful words of our Bit. ‘And Jesus, when he came out, saw much people (a great multitude), and was moved with compassion toward them, because they were as sheep not having a shepherd: and he began to teach them many things.’

Oh my people, how could you not believe and have faith in such a wonderful and compassionate man eh ? The sequence of events that led up to that outpouring of compassion are as follows. ‘And the apostles gathered themselves together unto Jesus, and told him all things , both what they had done, and what they had taught. (They had just returned from evangelizing around the region.)

And he said unto them, come ye yourselves apart (aside) into a desert (deserted) place, and rest a while: for there were many coming and going, and they had no leisure so much as to eat. and they departed into a desert (deserted) place by ship privately (by themselves)

And the people (multitudes) saw them departing, and many knew him, and ran afoot thither out of all cities, and outwent them (arrived before them), and came together unto him.’ (Mark 6:30-33) 

Oh my fellow believers, what a wonderful example for us to follow! But do we have that kind of compassion on our fellow men? To some small extent yes, but nowhere near the amount that we should have!

Remember Friends, that we are supposed to be the eyes, ears, hearts and hands of Jesus here on earth. That means we are also supposed to do as He did. But unfortunately, not many of us supposed believers show the kind of caring and compassion we ought to our fellow man. But then, when we need compassion, we expect Jesus, as well as other men to show it to us.

Friends, life doesn’t work that way. We receive what we give, and reap what we sow. Listen to these Bible verses from Bruh Paul to the Corinthians. ‘Blessed be God, even the Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, the Father of mercies, and the God of all comfort; Who comforteth us in all our tribulation, that we may be able to comfort them which are in any trouble (tribulation), by the comfort wherewith we ourselves are comforted of God.’ (2 Cor.1:3-4)

My people, God comforts us, has compassion on us, so that we can do the same for our fellow man. Remember Jesus came to save the lost, the sick, the hurting, the unfortunate. (Matt.18:11) And if we are His true ambassadors, then we are supposed to do likewise.

So please, today, as we go about our business, which hopefully is also Jesus’, let’s allow His LOVE to soften our hearts, open our eyes to those who need our caring and compassion, and let our hands and mouths show forth His LOVE! That’s our bounden duty, our earthly purpose and responsibility. Much LOVE!

…if we’re not helping others…then we don’t deserve to be called Christians…followers of Christ…    

Leave a Reply

