Today’s Scrip-Bit 1 February 2015 Psalm 138:7

Psalm 138:7.    Though I walk in the midst of trouble, thou wilt revive me: thou shalt stretch forth thine hand against the wrath of mine enemies, and thy right hand shall save me.
Oh Friends, it’s February 1st, and another beautiful day in Paradise! The sun’s shining, the birds are singing, as the leaves flutter in the cool breeze and the calm sea laps against the shore! And it’s the Lord’s Day to boot; the Sabbath, the first day of the week!

That means gathering together, fellowship, worship, praise, thanksgiving, and sincere acknowledgement of God’s majesty! Or as the song on the radio’s saying, ‘Lift up the name of Jesus!’

Sadly though, the ole fella’s still somewhat under the weather. The coughing has subsided, but my chest is still tight. Chuh Steups! I need both of them, because I’m tired with it! Can’t tell when last I’ve had this asthma stuff so badly and so long nuh.  I can’t even handle the heat down here.

Yesterday it was a bit rough going out in the day. Couldn’t stay out for too long, had to hurry back to my cool air conditioned quarters. I have to laugh yes, because up north all I could talk about was salt water and sunshine, and now that I’m here, I can’t handle the sunshine and I haven’t had much salt water either. Hn, hn, hn!

So I’m disappointed, but not worried. The Lord’s agenda is obviously different to mine. But I know He will come through for me eventually. I’m also disappointed that I didn’t get up in time to go to church this morning. I’ll have to find something on the television for me to hear the Word.

And they are playing a song on the radio about what Grandma use to say. And I’m hearing some sweet ole time sayings, amongst them, my favourite, ‘crapaud smoke yuh pipe; and when yuh prayer, move yuh feet; long rope for magre goat; short rope for the fat goat.’ Only in T&T! I also woke up with my back aching after … well I did sleep for a good while last night, so that’s understandable.

Re adventures: Nothing much happened yesterday. After I finished writing the Bit yesterday, I went out to pick up the duchess from the hotel where she had gone to have breakfast. But as I got out to the car, she appeared out of a taxi. She couldn’t wait on me any longer. What’s new eh! (smile) But thankfully there was no disagreement over my tardiness.

We went to the mall, still no sim cards in one place, and the other one was closed. So we’re really incommunicado by phone, because the land line isn’t working either. Apparently when they built the compound they laid the cables for phones and TV in the ground, and since it’s right by the sea, it seems the cables get wet and cause reception problems.

But yuh know I’m not bothered by the incommunicado problem nuh, because I can’t do much talking or laughing anyway. But I truly am tired of not only feeling, but also hearing the so and so wheezing in my chest! But them’s the breaks! As I keep preaching, I just have to grin and bear it.

We went down to Stumpy’s Emporium, sort of department store, where I bought some clothes hangers, then we bought some fruits from a roadside fruit stand and made a short stop at a friend’s bar on the main road, only to say hello, because the heat was killing me.

Somehow the talk of souse and black pudding came up, and she told me that a lady came out every Saturday evening with those mouth-watering delicacies at a place near to me. So after an early supper on the deck, we headed out for Kats, only to find that they had stopped selling there.

I was directed to another place, a Pennysaver’s Supermarket in Carnbee. So we went through the back roads and got there to hear that the pudding and souse show was on Friday’s not Saturday. However they came out at another Pennysaver down in Canaan, closer to me. So we headed down there.

Now that seemed to be a factual thing, because I found a customary fellow waiting for them too. We waited for about an hour, while the duchess went walking through the stores in the mall, and he told me about the rampant corruption devouring the country. It’s really a sad story.

Oh, and I just heard on the news about a woman in Trinidad setting her ex on fire when he came to her house where she was with another man. Ah Lord eh!

The long and short is that I didn’t get the much anticipated souse and pudding. Steups! Apparently the woman who made the stuff was sick. And that’s been the only food I truly felt for since I’ve been here. It reminded me of my youth, living up Main Street, where every Saturday evening, before we went to the cinema, we waited for this lady to come down the hill with the succulent souse and black pudding.

Anyway, we came home and I ate ice cream and cake and watched the Leafs lose to Philly. Their fourth shutout in five games. After being one of the highest scoring clubs, the goals have dried up under this new coach’s defensive system. And it’s not like they aren’t getting chances, but they’re either missing the net or running in to hot goal-tending.

And that’s my story, and I’m sticking to it! (smile) Just like I’m sticking to our Bit: ‘Though I walk in the midst of trouble, thou wilt revive me: thou shalt stretch forth thine hand against the wrath of mine enemies, and thy right hand shall save me.’  

Words of indisputable truth my people! And all of us who have walked with Jesus for some time will be able to testify to that! For our God has promised to be with us wherever we are. He will never forsake or leave us. (Heb.13:5)

And nowhere has it been stated as succinctly and sweetly as in Psalm 23; the comforting and encouraging words of Bruh David. ‘Yea, though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil: for thou art with me, thy rod and staff they comfort me.’ (Ps.23:4) Godly words to stand strong on my brethren! And in these trying times we need stuff that we can hold on strong to.

And we’ll end with these mighty words of the sons of Korah, from Psalm 44- Former deliverances and present troubles. ‘Thou art my King, O God: command deliverances for Jacob. Through thee will we push down our enemies: through thy name will we tread (trample) them under that rise up against us.

For I will not trust in my bow, neither shall my sword save me. But thou hast saved us from our enemies, and hast put them to shame that hated us. In God we boast all the day long, and praise thy name for ever. Selah. (Ps.44:4-8).

Yes Friends, our magnificent and faithful God has saved us before, and He will do so again. So there is need to worry or doubt His abilities and his faithfulness. Let’s stand strong and boast in His name all day long! That’s the zenith of wisdom! Much LOVE!

…Jesus did not die…so that we could live worried and afraid…but confident and powerful…with steadfast trust in His LOVING-kindness.

P.S. Going to find the Word on the tube, then later go up by Magdalena for their Sunday Brunch, and possibly watch the Super Bowl in the evening. That’s good enough for me, as the day might be hot again. Look at me running from hot sun eh! (smile) Much LOVE!

 

Leave a Reply

