Today’s Scrip-Bit 30 December 2014 Revelation 3:20

Revelation 3:20.  Behold, I stand at the door and knock: if any man hear my voice, and open the door, I will come into him, and will sup (dine) with him, and he with me.

 Oh Friends, on this fateful Tuesday morning, the penultimate day of the tumultuous year of 2014, I want to share some most valuable words of wisdom with you. The first set is that ignorance is a hell of a thing! (smile) But it is. And I am a glaring example of that this morning.

Now I know that if I lie in my bed for too long, my back will start acting up and pain like the devil. But what did I do? I went to bed rather early last night and did not get up till after five this morning.

And to tell the state of folly that enveloped my mind, around two something, I got up to go to the bathroom and felt my back aching. But did I pay it any attention? Not at all! Simple mindedly I claimed that it was too early to get up and do stuff, so I went back to bed.

Steups! And now I am paying the price for that folly. I got up tired, with cramps in my calves, and the old back aching so much that I had to put on my back brace, which I hardly use these days, and now I’m puttering around like a real old man, with small, mincing steps. (smile)

Ah Lord eh! And here are the words of wisdom that the old people would give out under those conditions; when you don’t hear, you feel. A rather apt saying, I must say.

And the moral of that story is to point out the scary imbalance in our minds and personalities, where, although we know the hefty price of doing certain things, we still do them. And then we moan and groan and complain about the resultant negative consequences. Chuh! How stupid we can be at times eh Friends!

That brings me to this matter. Earlier on, as I lay in bed soaking – for even with my back aching, I still needed to soak, hn! – my mind was in a contemplative state, considering what to write on this day. Then these words suddenly popped up: ‘And if you should hear me knocking this morning, please open the door.’

That led me to believe that our Lord’s invitation was to be our Bit for today. So here it is, in bright, living and explosive colour. ‘Behold, I stand at the door, and knock: if any man hear my voice, and open the door, I will come into him, and will sup (dine) with him, and he with me.’

Oh my people, that is such a wonderful invitation that I don’t see how we can reject it! But reject it we do; foolishly and ignorantly! Just like my folly earlier this morning.

We know the consequences of not inviting Jesus into our hearts when He knocks there – death and eternal separation from God – yet we still blatantly refuse to open our hearts to Him, so that we can be truly blessed.

And the sad part is that Jesus is continually knocking at the door of our hearts, but we continually refuse to let Him in. It’s not like He just knocks once, and then goes away forever. He’s always right there, outside our heart doors, knocking, seeking entry.

And furthermore, unlike Lucifer, who threatens to knock us over if we don’t comply with his wishes, Jesus is the perfect gentleman. He prefers to ask for permission to enter, so that when He is allowed entry, He knows there’s sincerity in that particular heart.

My Friends, our Lord and Saviour, Jesus Christ, is a calm and peaceful soul. He doesn’t rant and rave. He wants us to come to Him of our own volition, not feeling as though we were forced to do so.

For you know, regardless of the good and positive outcomes, when we believe we are forced into something, there’s always a tad of anger and resentment present, just because we didn’t do it of our own free will. That’s just the nature of the human animal.

Anyway my people, today, as everyday, Jesus is knocking at the doors of our hearts, quietly and sincerely asking for entry, so that He can make us His own. So if you hear that knock, please don’t be foolish and reject it.

Instead be brave, be bold, be wise, and open your heart to the wonderful Saviour of the world, because that’s what He is coming to do; save you from your sins, make you worthy to be called a child of the Most High God!

And we’ll close with these prophetic words of Jesus, when he was asked, if only a few would be saved. (Luke 13:23) ‘Strive to enter in at the strait (narrow) gate: for many, I say unto you, will seek to enter in, and shall not be able.

When once the master of the house is risen up, and hath shut the door, and ye begin to stand without (outside), and to knock at the door, saying, Lord, Lord, open unto us; and he shall answer and say unto you, I know you not whence ye are (where you are from):

Then shall ye begin to say, We have eaten and drunk in thy presence, and thou hast taught in our streets. But he shall say, I tell you, I know you not whence ye are (where you are from); depart from me, all ye workers of iniquity.

There shall be weeping and gnashing of teeth, when ye shall see Abraham, and Isaac, and Jacob, and all the prophets, in the kingdom of God, and you yourselves thrust out.

And they shall come from the east, and from the west, and from the north, and from the south, and shall sit down in the kingdom of God. And, behold, there are last which shall be first, and there are first which shall be last.’ (Luke 13:24-30)

Oh Friends, I implore us today, to ensure that we’re not numbered amongst the sorry lot that’s refused entry to God’s eternal kingdom! And the best way to do that is to open our hearts willingly and LOVINGLY to Jesus’ knock today. That is wisdom at its ultimate best! Much LOVE!

…when Jesus knocks…he who refuses Him entry is lost forever…but he that opens with a generous and humble spirit…will dwell with Him in heaven for eternity…

 


 

Leave a Reply

