Today’s Scrip-Bit 3 November 2014 Psalm 4:1.

Psalm 4:1.  Hear me when I call , O God of my righteousness: thou hast enlarged (relieved) me when I was in distress; have mercy upon me (be gracious to me), and hear my prayer.

Awright Friends, here’s today’s good news: that day which we all tend to dislike, despise and shout out all sorts of deleted expletives at….well it has rolled around again.
 
Yes, my people, it’s Monday once again; a big, bright, bold, beautiful, juicy, edible Monday! (smile) So please don’t pour out any invective at it, just nibble quietly on its tantalizing parts, as we do whatever is necessary to get ourselves to go out and labour.
 
And if we worshipped and fellowshipped and gave thanks and praise to Almighty God yesterday, and wisely basked in His LOVE and peace, then getting ourselves together shouldn’t be too hard to do, because our spirits would already have been prepared to go out and battle the infidel this morning.
 
But regardless of what action we took yesterday, useful or harmful, let’s ratchet up our desire for Jesus this morning by singing our Monday Morning Battle Hymn with all the oomph and Christ-like enthusiasm we can muster.
 
So in strong, harmonious and melodic voice, let’s sing. ‘Oh Lord God Almighty, Creator of the universe and all therein! We, your humble servants, praise your Holy Name and thank you that this Monday morning we have jobs to go to; jobs we don’t like, jobs that are unfair, difficult and even dangerous, but which serve a useful purpose here on earth; keeping lives and families together.
 
We also thank you Father for the renewed vitality and enthusiasm you’ve wrought in our weary souls over the last two days. It’s that rejuvenation of Spirit which allows us now to sally forth with confidence into the evil, ungodly world that surrounds us, to begin a new week of work, constantly buffeted and bombarded by the enemy’s wicked taunts, wiles and lies.
 
But heavenly Father, we’re not afraid, for we know we’re invincible, sure conquerors, once we’re wearing your powerful, protective spiritual armour. We surrender our all to you, and humbly ask that you let your incredible aura of LOVE, the Holy Spirit, lead and guide all your servants as we go out to meet the enemy in battle.
 
Fill us with steadfast faith, so that we can make worthwhile inroads into the enemy’s ranks, and thereby further your glorious kingdom. We pray this in the Holy Name of your Son, and our Saviour, Jesus Christ. AMEN!’  
 
Steupssss! What was that eh mh people? That was only a so-so rendition. Too many hoarse, out of tune, off key voices! What with all the rehearsals and the reminders to practice on your own, we should be doing much better by now. 
 
But as the old people would say, like we going from bad to worse! And that’s no lie! But it is certainly unacceptable. Even Jesus had to shake His head in concern for our poor performance.
 
But yuh know what Friends, our God is so wonderful, that He will forgive us, because He knows that we are sincerely trying, that our spirits are willing but our flesh is weak. So please, let’s not get down on ourselves. Instead, let’s cry out to Him in the words of our Bit, like Bruh David did in his time of need and anguish.
 
‘Hear me when I call, O God of my righteousness: thou hast enlarged (relieved) me when I was in distress; have mercy upon me (be gracious to me), and hear my prayer.’
 
Ah my people, the power of prayer is the most valuable commodity, as well as the mightiest weapon in our earthly arsenal! That’s because it connects us to the most powerful force in the universe; Jehovah God, its Creator and Controller!  
 
Now here’s another instance from the Good Book, where our Poster Boy, Jesus Christ, our supreme example of the need for, and the efficacy and effectiveness of prayer, shrugs off everything else and gets quiet with the Father.
 
After He heals a leper and His fame is so noised abroad that multitudes begin coming to Him for healing, what does He do? ‘And he withdrew himself into the wilderness, and prayed.’ (Luke 5:16)
 
Yes my brethren, even Jesus had to renew His spirit through peaceful communication with His heavenly Father. And that only highlights our desperate need for the same, especially since we’re of such sinful nature.  
 
Now listen to these verses on prayer from Psalm 66, which extols the great works of God. The psalmist wisely cries out in testimony: ‘Come and hear, all ye that fear God, and I will declare what he hath done for my soul. I cried unto him with my mouth, and he was extolled (praised, exalted) with my tongue.
 
If I regard iniquity in my heart, the Lord will not hear me: But verily God hath heard me; he hath attended to the voice of my prayer. Blessed be God, which hath not turned away my prayer, nor his mercy from me.’ (Ps.66:16-20)
 
Ah Friends, what godly wisdom is ensconced therein! Please let’s show our own wisdom and accept it; write it indelibly in our hearts, souls and minds, so that we can, and will have prayer power always at hand!
 
And here’s a most appropriate ending from Peter. ‘But the end of all things is at hand: be ye therefore sober, and watch unto prayer.’ (1 Pet.4:7) That’s gospel truth Friends!
 
So till we meet again, may the Lord bless and keep us safe on our pilgrim’s journey; may He shine His radiant countenance upon us and give us His peace which passes all mortal understanding, and the wisdom to come to Him in prayer at ALL times, be they good or bad. Much LOVE!
 
…the result of prayer is life… (St. Francis of Assisi) 
 
P.S. Chuh! I was less than perfect yesterday when I gave the reading for the poem ‘Enormous Rewards’ as being Ephesians 5:20. It should have been 3:20: ‘Now unto him that is able to do exceeding abundantly above all that we ask or think, according to the power that worketh in us.’
 
Now that’s a much more appropriate scripture. I never felt right about it yesterday, but figured if that’s what the author said, who was I to question it? Then today I was drawn to the poem and discovered my error. Please accept my humble apology. The ole fella is only human…and getting on in age too, so he’s not as mentally nimble as he once was, or his eyesight as good. (smile) Much LOVE!

 

 

 


 

Leave a Reply

