Today’s Scrip-Bit 24 March 2012 Psalm 118:6

Psalm 118:6.    The Lord is on my side; I will not fear: what can man do unto me?

Ah Friends, the eccentricity of the weather in my area is causing uncertainties in both people and plants. After a few days of very warm temps, yesterday it was in the low teens, windy and cool. Now today it’s supposed to be even cooler, then warm tomorrow and cool again for the next couple days. People at least have some indication of what it will be like each day, so they can prepare to suit, but the poor plants have no such luck, they work by instinct and familiarity. However, the weather has been anything but familiar this year, and thus the flora are in a quandary as to bloom now or not. I looked out my backyard yesterday afternoon and all the trees were still dry and leafless, except for an apple tree full of yellowish leaves. Now what message did that apple tree get that the others didn’t eh? I have no idea, but Friends, I have this sure message for us; today and every day. When we are caught up in perplexing and calamitous situations, please remember these words of our Bit, taken from a Psalm of thanksgiving for the Lord’s salvation. ‘The Lord is on my side; I will not fear: what can man do unto me?’ Nothing really my people, but possibly kill ourbodies. And even then, we have strong encouragement from Jesus saying not to be afraid of those who can only kill our bodies, but not our souls. However we should beware of those who can kill both in hell. (Matt.10:28) So of mankind we should not be afraid, but certainly of the powers of spiritual darkness who can kill both our bodies and souls. Now in answer to all that, Bruh David proclaims boldly and eloquently in Psalm 27: ‘The Lord is my light and my salvation; whom shall I fear? The Lord is the strength of my life; of whom shall I be afraid?’(Ps.27:1) And again in Psalm 56, he offers up trust and confidence in the God of his fathers: ‘When I cry unto thee, then shall my enemies turn back: this I know; for God is for me. In God will I praise his word: in the Lord will I praise his word. In God have I put my trust: I will not be afraid what man can do unto me.’ (Ps.56:9-11) Oh Friends, I know it’s not always easy to stand on those platforms of trust and confidence when the evils of the world and their purveyors come against us. But if the Christian faith is truly strong in us, we will be able to withstand the attacks of the wicked. Unfortunately though, one can only develop true and strong faith by undergoing tough times, where we buckle down with the Word, with prayer, with remembrance and thanksgiving for all the Lord’s already done for us. It doesn’t come easy, and one has to make a conscious and serious decision to see things through the eyes of faith. The great men of faith also struggled, sometimes long and hard too. It took Moses sometime to reach the stage where he could confidently declare: ‘The Lord is my strength and song, and he is become my salvation: he is my God, and I will prepare him a habitation (praise Him); my father’s God, and I will exalt him.’ (Ex.15:2) That’s after the Lord parted the Red Sea and led the Israelites safely away from the Egyptian army, which He then annihilated through the rush of the returning waters. Oh my people, doubts will always assail us in this evil and ungodly world, but if the Lord is safely and surely ensconced in our hearts minds and souls, we will be able to deflect the fiery arrows of the enemy. And sadly, right now is one of those times when we desperately need strong and steadfast faith; what with our world been in such a calamitous state. Mankind has gone astray from God’s will and is thus paying a hefty price, which will only get worse if we continue our disobedience. But please remember, as believers in Christ, we have nothing to fear but fear itself, for there is one constant in this world, the Lord God Almighty, who never changes, who has promised us security, and has definitely proven Himself faithful under all circumstances. But we first have to come to Him in true trust and surrender, believing that He is who He says He is, and will always do what He says. We went through that in our Bit of the last few days, so it should come as no surprise. Therefore, in closing, let’s listen to these words of encouragement and exhortation from Bruh David that will keep us enthused, uplifted and on the straight and narrow path to Jesus. ‘My soul (silently) wait thou only upon God: for my expectation (hope) is from him. He only is my rock and my salvation: he is my defense; I shall not be moved (shaken). In God is my salvation and my glory: the rock of my strength, and my refuge, is in God. Trust in him at all times; ye people, pour out your heart before him: God is a refuge for us. Selah.’ (Ps.62:5-8) My fellow brethren in Christ, please let’s take these words to heart, so that they can enable us to stand steadfast and strong in faith as our world reels from one disaster to another. Much LOVE!…what shall we then say to these things…if God be for us…who can be against us… NOBODY…  (Rom.8:31)

 

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

